The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PhP-Upgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MrYoDa, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. MrYoDa

    MrYoDa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Anyone!
    I am having a few probs upgrading my php version.

    I am on Version 4.4.1 now and when i try to upgrade
    the apache wont start after the install

    I have read loads about this on the forums here but cant seem to
    pick out a definative answer to my prob

    I am running Centos 4.4 and CURRENT tree for my cpanel / whm upgrades
    (WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-C42)

    When i do a "service httpd configtest" i get
    [warn] NameVirtualHost 85.**.**.**:80 has no VirtualHosts
    Syntax OK
    I tried the fix for that in a post i read here with no success.

    "/usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl configtest" returns the above results also.

    Can anyone help.
    Thanks........
     
  2. sssathish

    sssathish Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Madurai, Tamil Nadu, India
    Hi,

    If its a CPanel server then do try by giving /scripts/restartsrv_apache in the shell.
     
  3. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    As you see:
    [warn] NameVirtualHost 85.**.**.**:80 has no VirtualHosts
    is a WARNING only. Your apache should work fine even if you get manu similar warnings.

    Check:
    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    there you could find actualt reason why HTTPD doesn't work.

    Anyway, I believe HTTPD doesn't work, because of some PHP lib. So, disable the PHP libs what you enabled when recompiled HTTPD and PHP last time and recompile HTTPD again. It will work.

    Also, use /scriprs/easyapache to upgrade PHP and APACHE.
     
  4. MrYoDa

    MrYoDa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    HI, Thanks for that
    I will try that later when its quiet,

    The only thing i enable when upgrading php/apache is
    GD and freetype support.

    I havent updated it without enabling them,
    So if it works, can i add GD and Freetype Support later ?

    Thanks...
     
  5. rikgarner

    rikgarner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Our Centos 4.4 boxes have PHP 5.1.6 and GD2 without any problems. You could try running Apache upgrade within WHM using the default options, just setting PHP to the version you want (and enabling SuExec if you use it), and check if that works, then do it again, adding the modules you want.

    Rich
     
  6. MrYoDa

    MrYoDa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Code:
    [Mon Oct 16 00:33:56 2006] [notice] mod_security/1.9.1 configured
    [Mon Oct 16 00:33:57 2006] [warn] NameVirtualHost 85.**.**.**:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Mon Oct 16 00:33:57 2006] [warn] pid file /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
    
    Unfortunatly none of the above ideas worked at all
    The above code is direct from the apache error_log file

    Thanks peeps :)
     
    #6 MrYoDa, Oct 15, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page