Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

PHP version for Mysql (phpmyadmin)

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by kwdamp, Jan 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. kwdamp

    kwdamp Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm trying to determine if/how I can upgrade the php version phpmyadmin (for mysql) is running?

    I'm currently running easyapache 4 and multiple versions of php on the server with MultiPHP manager.

    Is the version of php used for phpmyadmin tied to one particular account? There is a default account on the server that redirects to the machine name.

    Or, is there a separate way to determine which version of PHP this interface runs?

    Oh, and one bonus question: Am I likely to run into potential compatibility problems with phpmyadmin and php 7.2?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, that is a server wide version and it is only one application that all the users use (bundled with cPanel).


    It uses cPanel's internal PHP version, which is not controlled by Easyapache..


    What error you are getting with this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's not possible to change the version of PHP used with phpMyAdmin unless you install phpMyAdmin manually on an account, as it corresponds to the internal version of PHP utilized with cPanel. Is there a particular issue you are trying to address?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kwdamp

    kwdamp Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the info.

    So, I guess the question is: How do I update the version of php that is used in this case? Or are you suggesting that I have no control and it will stay at 5.6 until CPanel makes the change in their future versions?
     
  5. kwdamp

    kwdamp Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    usa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Michael, I guess that makes sense.

    There are two potential issues I'm trying to address.

    The first, is simply that I've noticed some of the processes and queries in phpmyadmin take quite a bit longer to execute than they do when I call and output them directly through some of my custom php scripts running 7.2 or the command line. I assume at least part of the reason is that PHP 7.2 is seeing some boost in performance.

    Second, and perhaps more importantly, I'm getting a lot of errors importing and exporting large files with phpmyadmin. Many of these I can fix with temporary adjustments to the tweak settings for php (such as max upload size, max execution time, etc), but I don't like having to keep track of 3 different versions of the php system settings now that I am running 7.0 or 7.2 on virtually all of my other accounts on the server.

    It just adds some mental overhead I have to deal with.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The changes you make in "WHM >> Tweak Settings" only apply to the single internal version of PHP used by cPanel & WHM. You don't have to apply these changes to the multiple PHP versions offered with EasyApache 4 as those versions of PHP are used for your websites and not phpMyAdmin.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    kwdamp likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice