The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Php4 + Php5

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chris8lunch, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm trying to have my server admins get PHP4 + PHP5 running.. but they gave me this reply,

    --
    Hi,

    As per your request, I have tried to install the php5 with apache. But the problem now I face is that both the php's cannot be installed as apache module. One of the php installed should in the cgi format. Configuring php4 which come's with the cpanel is a bit risky. Please let me know whether I can install the php5 in cgi-mode. Please let me know the details. So that I can proceed further on this request.
    --

    What should I say? Is this guy correct? Or is what he saying true about how to get PHP5 running? Help, please.

    Thanks kindly!
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    One has to be a module and the other as cgi. It's not hard to configure. But if your admin just discovered that two php modules will not install side by side, you may want to seek other install options.
     
  3. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is this a security risk by doing so? Because it seems like they are warning me or something..
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If he sets up the CGI with suExec, or PHPSuExec, then it is safer than the module version, in the sense that the PHP scripts which use the suExec protected CGI binary run using your account credentials, rather than Apache's credentials.
     
  5. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can run both as apache modules, but you have to patch php so that there is not a conflict with the 2 versions, it's quite easy.

    That said, it is easier to install the second php install either as a cgi or in another apache server running on the same box, on different ips as a module.
     
Loading...

Share This Page