The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

php5 not compiling with fcgi support using EasyApache

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by poly1, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. poly1

    poly1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've been running php with mod_fcgid for the past week now with great success, and using nginx admin to handle static content. Last night I went to rebuild apache for some added performance tweaks, and now I can't seem to get fcgi to work. I've selected mod_fcgi from the exhaustive options list and rebuilt, which it does successfully, but when I'm prompted to choose the php5 handler and I select fcgi, I get the following message:
    Under the exhaustive options list I have the following checked:
    What am I missing? Is there something here I don't need? I'm running a vbulletin 4 site, I don't need a lot of features, I just wanted it to be as fast and secure as possible. I've tried building with SuPHP and and CGI checked as well as FCGID, but when it comes to selecting a filehandler it's still not recognizing fcgi support in php. What am I doing wrong? Any suggestions, ideas for performance tweaks, etc. would be appreciated.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have DiscardPath selected for PHP5 or have unchecked CGI for PHP5, FCGI will not be selectable as an option to compile for PHP as a handler. To easily check if you have these or not in your last successful Apache recompile, please run the following command in root SSH:

    Code:
    grep -i php5::discard _main.yaml && grep -i php5::cgi _main.yaml
     
  3. poly1

    poly1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tristan, I ran it, comes back with nothing. :(
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello poly1,

    Sorry, my mistake as I had cd'ed into the path where those are housed but didn't include the cd command. Here are both commands, which should give you output this time:

    Code:
    cd /var/cpanel/easy/apache/profile
    grep -i php5::discard _main.yaml && grep -i php5::cgi _main.yaml
    Thanks.
     
  5. poly1

    poly1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tristan, my folder structure isn't the same. The Apache folder is outside of the cpanel folder, both under usr/local. I have usr/local/apache, ./apachebackup, and /usr/local/cpanel. The only yaml file I can find is php.conf.yaml, which reads:
    I appear To have a backup of an earlier config, httpd.conf.easyapache_save, however that didn't fix my problems before. libphp5, suhosin, and all the other mods I use are still in my modules folder, along with mod_fcgid, however I still can't get php to recompile with it. What's more, my current config (DSO) is causing me permissions problems returning 403 errors when I try to download my vbseo sitemap.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you try running WHM > EasyApache (Apache Update) simply to check if CGI is checked and DiscardPath isn't checked in Step 6 Exhaustive Options List? Otherwise, if that still doesn't work, please try opening up a ticket in WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature.
     
  7. poly1

    poly1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Discard path is a php4 option isn't it? I only see a Path Info Check under exhaustive options for 5.3.6. Anyways I'll go ahead and build, hope it works.
     
  8. poly1

    poly1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, it worked. I'm compiled with fcgi again. The only error message I get is this, which I've had the last few times:
    Now to see if my permissions problems still persist.
     
  9. fevangelou

    fevangelou Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Was on a FastCGI setup and PHP 5.3.8. Used EasyApache to upgrade to PHP 5.3.10. The process fails to rebuild the FastCGI setup and constantly outputs (upon saving the configuration at the end):

    It's not a settings issue:
    Code:
    grep -i php5::discard _main.yaml && grep -i php5::cgi _main.yaml
    Cpanel::Easy::PHP5::DiscardPath: 0
    Cpanel::Easy::PHP5::CGI: 1
    
    I'm using WHM 11.30.6 (build 3) on a 2xQuad Core Xeon dedicated server with 24GBs of RAM.

    Is this a known bug with the above WHM/cPanel version?

    Any suggested quick solutions?
     
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm not familiar with this being a bug as I have FCGI available in my 5.3.10 build. Please submit a ticket using WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature, and please note the ticket number here upon submitting one.

    Thanks!
     
  11. fevangelou

    fevangelou Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Ticket number is 2294781.

    This is a production server with active websites on. Please be gentle :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page