The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PHP5 not installing, just installs PHP 4.4.x

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xmlmania, Jun 12, 2006.

  1. xmlmania

    xmlmania Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've just updated a server I haven't touched in months. Updated CPanel, mysql to 5.0.21, all server software etc.

    I was doing the Apache update, setting the PHP version to 5.1.4 but it just ALWAYS reverts to installing PHP 4.4.x

    Has anyone come across this issue or got a quick fix? This is on a mission critical application and I need to resolve the issue asap.

    Cheers
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    You might see what happens when you do:

    /usr/bin/php -v
    /usr/local/bin/php -v

    Also do you have any errors when apache updates?
     
  3. bradlinux

    bradlinux Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Upgrading Error

    I am getting the same thing. when i run those scripts i get 2 different versions.
    # /usr/bin/php -v
    PHP 5.0.4 (cgi) (built: Jun 13 2006 10:23:42)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.0.4-dev, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies

    # /usr/local/bin/php -v
    PHP 4.4.1 (cli) (built: May 8 2006 10:18:08)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Below are the errors that i receive.
    make [@php-5.0.4]...(-j 1 clean).... Done

    make [@php-5.0.4]...(-j 1).... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done

    make: *** [libphp5.la] Error 1

    make [@php-5.0.4]...(install).... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done

    make: *** [libphp5.la] Error 1
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd started
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Fixing this issue can be a true Advil headache.

    cd /usr/lib/mysql
    rename .a .a_old *.a
    rename .la .la_old *.la

    Then Re-compile php. When done, rename all the files back again. See if that helps!
     
  5. xmlmania

    xmlmania Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bradlinux, I've had that problem in the past, but not for a long time.

    I've decided to do a format and install. Fedora C1 was past its best days, time to move to the latest CentOS -- hopefully I won't run into the same problem :eek:
     
  6. bradlinux

    bradlinux Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    CentOS

    I am currently using centos... I had been reading about easyapache and was kinda sketchy about trying it... Well being the brave soul I went ahead and proceeded... Luckly it fixed my problem... It took it back to php4 but it is better then it not working... Thanks for the info on the fixes... I will try again at a later time...
     
  7. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You most likely will, follow Andyreed's advice above if you have the error bradlinux had. We always have to rename the libs above and rename them back to compile php5.xx or above.
     
Loading...

Share This Page