The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpBB Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nfeasey, Oct 11, 2003.

  1. nfeasey

    nfeasey Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have installed a bullentin board to one of my domains.

    http://mydomain.com/forums

    However, when I try to link to his URL I get a 404 error.

    I can see that the forums directory was created and files copied in. The mySQL database was also created.

    However, I can't get into the forums area with a web browser.

    Has anyone else had this behaviour? Is there something else that I must do to get the forums up and running?

    Thanks in advance.

    N

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. btwatts

    btwatts Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a cPanel server that fails to install phpBB for every domain I have tried.

    It is unclear why this is happening.

    Has any work been done with problems like this?
     
  3. mjm2

    mjm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    rm -rf /
    why dont you try the phpBB support forums?
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What happens when you type in http://<domain>/forums/index.php ?

    You may want to check the installaltion path. I believe by default phpBB uses http://<domain>/phpBB/ , you may have also placed it in forum not forum, etc.

    Did you use CPanel's built-in script to install this BB?
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Also make sure that if you have not edited your httpd.conf to allow it you are not leaving the trailing slash off. Without modification, apache thinks that a missing slash means a file, not a folder.
     
  6. scubakevin

    scubakevin Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cancun
    phpbb failed install

    Yes,

    I had a problem with the phpbb install but only on the 3rd one I tried. I got 2 successful installations and then 1 failed one.

    One of the things that is messed up is that the forum directory has to be in the top level of the site www.domain.com/forum

    I almost never have it this way.

    Another problem with the Mysql Database and its configuration is that you cannot name your own databases and so when migrating sites with databases you have to change all of the config.php files so that it matches the long silly names given by CPANEL.

    I have 26 databases to migrate for 13 clients and some of them are large reservation systems and I cannot keep the database names.

    I installed a site level copy of the phpmyadmin using root access and I cannot access or use any of the databases that I created.
     
Loading...

Share This Page