The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpBB upgrade only

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by niatech, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    I have a server that is set to manual updates (yes, automatic-release is coming this friday). But a couple phpbb's were defaced last week and i need to update those sites.

    Is it possible to upgrade phpBB only and not the rest of CPanel? Also, if I can upgrade phpBB, will that still force me to update each installation manually via CPanel?

    THanks!

    CIao
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The cPanel Addon Scripts are relatively release independent, so you can run the following to update them:

    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2 --updateaddons

    Users can then upgrade via cPanel, or you could install the Addon Module - Addon Script Manager and use that to forceably upgrade any phpBB installations instlled through cPanel. It won't upgrade any installations installed manually, or as part of phpNuke.
     
  3. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Chirpy,

    I will give this a try.
     
  4. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    One question, will this affect the currently installed horde installation?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, it only updates the Addon Scripts, and doesn't touch what cPanel classes as 3rd-party apps, such as horde.
     
  6. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds good.

    Thanks!
     
  7. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Chirpy,

    I gave that a try, but it only upgraded to 2.0.11? I have my update config set to Manual RELEASE? Am I missing something?
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Then you may well be running on a pre-v10 cPanel installation and should update it. What version of cPanel are you running?
     
  9. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Chirpy,

    I'm running v10.0.0-R7
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That may be just too old to use the newer addon script update mechanism. You're gong to have to upgrade to the latest RELEASE to be able to benefit from the new addon script versions.
     
  11. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds good.

    I have planned to turn on Automatic RELEASE this friday. Do you foresee any problems going from R7 to 10.2.0-R82 (i think is the latest)?

    I know about the new horde version, which I have already taken care of.

    Thanks
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's the only major change from a user perspective. You can upgrade manually yourself if you prefer by simply running:

    /scripts/upcp
     
Loading...

Share This Page