The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyAdmin 2.8.0.2 issue

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by PCZero, Jun 28, 2006.

  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    When any of my users log into phpMyAdmin they see a database called "information_schema" containing 16 tables. Any idea what thsi table and why everyone can see it?

    Thanks,
    DB
     
  2. Bash

    Bash Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This was a post in another thread:

    >Going to WHM --> Change a User or Database Password and resetting my mysql root password >back to my usual fixed the problem for me. Many others are having this same issue. >Happened to me after an auto-upgrade last night to 4.1.19. :-(
    >
    >All is well again, I believe.
    >
    >-- Matt
    >Reply With Quote

    Try updating WHM/cPanel and changing your passwords.


    -Bash
     
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Taks for the suggestion, but it didn't help... :(

    WHM - SQL Services - MySQL Root Password
    Set a new password...

    WHM - SQL Services - Change a User or Database Password
    Selected one account and set a new password...

    Logged into MySQL for the account in question.
    All the database for that account were listed PLUS the information_schema database,


    Any other ideas?
     
  4. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Actually I just read the other thread. It is not exactly the same issue. He states he had a rights issue with information_schema. I am wondering why it is showing up in myPhpAdmin for all users.

    Thanks,
    DB
     
  5. Bash

    Bash Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What version of WHM/cPanel are you running? What version of Mysql and phpmyadmin? I will try to look into this.

    "INFORMATION_SCHEMA provides access to database metadata.

    Metadata is data about the data, such as the name of a database or table, the data type of a column, or access privileges. Other terms that sometimes are used for this information are data dictionary and system catalog.

    INFORMATION_SCHEMA is the information database, the place that stores information about all the other databases that the MySQL server maintains. Inside INFORMATION_SCHEMA there are several read-only tables. They are actually views, not base tables, so there are no files associated with them."

    This is from the mysql site as well... there were some posts about how to hack into servers using this database... However, lemme look into this more before I start assuming things.

    -Bash
     
  6. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-C118
    RedHat Enterprise 4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    MySQL - 5.0.21-standard
    phpMyAdmin - 2.8.0.2
     
  7. Bash

    Bash Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running Redhat 9... Sorry... I upgraded to the exact versions and was not able to see that table in any of the users databases via phpmyadmin.

    -Bash
     
  8. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Well drat. Something seems to be amock! I wonder if it is a permissions issue on that database? Let me investigate to see what setting I have in user and db. Maybe we can track this down.
     
  9. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    two things to add.

    ONE: I did just recently upgrade from MySQL 4.q.x to 5.0.21. The upgrade didnt go smoothly and I had to go through the process several time to get MySQL to restart. I had to edit /stc/my.cnf to grt MySQL back on line. All I did was comment out the following line...

    basedir=/var/lib

    I don't think tis would have an impact but full disclosure of recent events etc.


    TWO: When I run the MySQL Administrator tool available at mysql.com, and I go into User Administration I get an error. Double clicking on any user give me the following...

    A MySQL error was encountered. The message is
    Error while fetching user information.
    The following error occured: Unknown column 'Create_view_priv' in field list'
    (1054)

    I'm not sure if my 'user' tables (and perhaps others as well) in the 'mysql' database didnt make it through the upgrade correctly or now. This situation sounds more likely to be relevant to the issue at hand.


    Any additional comments?


    Thanks,
    DB
     
  10. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Checking to see if anyone else has this issue with the information_schema databse being listed in phpMyAdmin...
     
  11. wildbomb

    wildbomb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I'm having the same issue with my Fedora Core 4 - WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R119 - MySQL 5.0.21

    wildbomb
     
  12. strikinado

    strikinado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How to resolve it?
     
  13. PeteC

    PeteC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    This seems to happen when you are running MySQL 5. I believe it is a feature, not a bug:

    http://forums.mysql.com/read.php?20,116630,116656#msg-116656

    You'll notice that there is no option to edit any of that information in phpMyAdmin (it is read-only), and you won't be shown anything you don't have privileges to see. For example, if you browse the "TABLES" table, you won't see databases owned by other user accounts on the server, you'll only see your own plus those in the "information_schema" database.
     
  14. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sorry for push up this old thread, but I have a question about this.

    I know. But I don't feel comfy with that. In another thread somebody shown how to hide that table in phpmyadmin:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f39/ocultar-la-tabla-information_scheme-en-phpmyadmin-94185.html#post434845

    You just have to add the statement in the /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/config.inc.php file


    MY QUESTION IS:
    whenever phpmyadmin be upgraded, this setting will be overrided/wiped out? is there any way to mantain the setting in place? or I just will need to watch it every time an upgrade is performed?
     
  15. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It appears we don't provide a method of customizing PHPMyAdmin the way we do for Horde (as an example).
     
  16. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    So.... I have to watch it every time phpMyAdmin be upgraded?
     
  17. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct. You could add a /scripts/postupcp[/b] script to monitor for the change and take appropriate action when the change occurs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page