Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyAdmin databases visible by everybody

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by nyjimbo, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    New York
    This morning a customer told me that he could see everyones database via phpMyAdmin. Did something update automatically again?.

    Anybody know how to fix this ? We are running WHM 9.1.0 cPanel 9.1.0-R65 .

    Thanks.
     
  2. nvance

    nvance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    are you using stable version ?
     
  3. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Did you verify this?

    Nothing has auto updated, and there hasn't been any stable (or releses I think) since a few days ago.
     
  4. fwn_brian

    fwn_brian Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'm having the exact same problem, in fact I registered on the forum just to find an answer. :)

    Running WHM 9.1.0 and CPanel 9.1.0-R85 on RedHat 9 enterprise with WHM X v2.1.2

    I went into phpMyAdmin from WHM and it gave me an error about user privelages, and told me I should run 'mysql_fix_privilege_tables' to update the tables to the current version of MySQL. I ran the script and it didn't fix the problem.

    Any ideas or help would be appreciated, thanks!

    Brian
     
  5. nvance

    nvance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    just update last stable version..
     
  6. myweb

    myweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I have just updated to the latest stable version, and having the same problem.

    WHM 9.1.0 cPanel 9.1.0-R85 on RedHat9
     
  7. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    Please check the permissions of databases that it have global access. If it is having global access then it is viewable to all user through phpmyadmin. If it is like that then you have to change it to grand access for the specific users. You can do it directly entering into Mysql and run the following command for each database.

    GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON databasename.* TO 'databaseuser'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'password';

    You can do it in phpmyadmin also first you have to remove all global access and then add the necessary privileges.

    This will make database specific for certain user and it will not disply for other users.

    Regards,

    Bright:)
     
  8. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Is there a faster way to do this? Probably a script in /scripts ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page