The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpmyadmin giving error #2002 after latest update

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by ambition13, Sep 25, 2007.

  1. ambition13

    ambition13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I am running WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.11.0-R16983. I am guessing this update went out a couple days ago as my users started complaining that phpmyadmin was broken.

    This is the error I get when trying to access it:

    #2002 - The server is not responding (or the local MySQL server's socket is not correctly configured)

    Any ideas?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    According to the changelog, that build was released on September 11, 2007.
     
  3. cg3001

    cg3001 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yea, I am getting the same error...

    So whats the Solution ? I already tried changing localhost...any suggestions

    I got, WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.11.0-R16983
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  4. ambition13

    ambition13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, this server doesn't have many users on it, so it's possible someone just noticed it in the past few days. I ran a manual update but it said I have the newest build available. Is there a newer RELEASE build?

    Other than that, any ideas on what to check?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd recommend submitting a support request regarding this issue.
     
  6. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem here
    FC5 php 4.4.7
    mysql 4.1

    thx a lot
     
  7. noltsoft

    noltsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here

    Same problem
    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.11.0-R16983
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.3 i686
     
  8. Holbrookau

    Holbrookau Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  9. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same problem here also !!
    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.12.0-C17046
     
  10. noltsoft

    noltsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No solution so far? My question is what changed during the update that could have impacted phpmyadmin/mysql?
     
  11. Dawzz

    Dawzz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here is what worked for me

    pico /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/config.inc.php

    find
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket'] = '';
    change to
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket'] = '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock';

    next line
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';

    change to

    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'socket';


    like i said worked for me
     
  12. noltsoft

    noltsoft Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It all of the sudden started working through WHM. I need to check through cpanel now.
     
  13. aww

    aww Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Whew I need to start checking here first after strange things like this
    start happening so I don't feel like a complete idiot...

    tried a /scripts/upcp --force
    before I read this, it's still running, argh - and it fixes nothing

    but the above edit got it going, thanks!
     
    #13 aww, Oct 1, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2007
  14. zepline

    zepline Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks, this fixed the issue for me also.
     
  15. bugmac

    bugmac Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am Running on A Cent OS 4 it is a VPS.
    Works for me too.
    Thanks :)
     
    #15 bugmac, Oct 12, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2007
  16. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is port 3306 blocked in your firewall?
     
  17. douger

    douger Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks!

    Dude, you the man! Thanks! Drop me a note...

    ~douger



     
  18. Dawzz

    Dawzz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was going out of my mind with this problem on a brand new server until I figured it out :)
     
  19. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    None of that is needed.

    /scripts/restartsrv_mysql --check will resolve the issue.
     
    Rooter likes this.
  20. darklord1

    darklord1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All of the solutions provided, MAY work, but the next upgrade will fail again.

    Here is your FIX:
    Login as root into SSH
    Then Run This command:
    rm -rf /tmp/* && ln -s /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock /tmp/mysql.sock && service mysql restart

    This command will clear out the tmp directory, and recreate the mysql.sock file, which is the real issue, then restart mysql.

    If you wish to NOT clear the tmp directory:

    ln -s /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock /tmp/mysql.sock && service mysql restart

    Will do the trick.

    This method will do the job properly and your next upgrade will be proper as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page