The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyAdmin not working????

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by mrmax, Aug 22, 2003.

  1. mrmax

    mrmax Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm a reseller.

    I got the following error :
    ------error--------------------------------
    edited out:2082/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php

    cannot load MySQL extension,
    please check PHP Configuration.
    ---------------------------------------------
    Here is the solution that my host tech support gave:
    To correct this error.I had to change the password to "xxxxxxx". Now your phpmyadmin issue is resolved.
    ==========
    Well, I entered Cpanel and change my password, first then tested the password, by re-logging into Cpanel.
    Next I attempted to launch phpMyAdmin, I got the same error again.

    Here is tech support's answer:
    Its the password change which is causing the problem.The password change function have some bugs.The cpanel have agreed to fix it asap.Please provide me the password that you wish to set .I shall set it for you.
    =============
    This sounds really bogus. I had changed my password twice since setting up the acct. I only this week starting using phpmyadmin and it worked fine. So something got corrupted somewhere, and tech support doesn't know where.

    Please advise is tech support correct or do they need to keep looking?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. jough

    jough Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I had this same problem, and when I last manually ran /scripts/upcp the phpMyAdmin directory went away completely.

    Running the update script again doesn't reinstall it.

    Yikes.

    I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one with the problem, although let's hope we can get a solution to this.

    -- Jough

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jough

    jough Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    The password isn't the problem - you'd be getting an authentication error if there were something wrong with the password.

    Your host is cold making that stuff up.

    On a shared system, phpmyadmin will run as the user - adding the root password to mysql would mean that you'd see everyone's databases, which is not really what anyone would want.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. mrmax

    mrmax Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is this more dis-information or what?

    They said it was repaired, here is what I now get when try to launch phpmyadmin:
    Here is the answer from my host's tech support. Understand this is a BIG hosting co. with multiple levels of tech support.
    Is this more bad info......

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Is this more dis-information or what?

    I would say yes. It looks like they have a bad include path in php.ini. Have them try this:
    Code:
    include_path = ".:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php"
     
  6. jough

    jough Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    That sounds consistent, then.

    I too am running Red Hat 9.0 and probably a similar setup (php 4.3.2, mysql 4.0.14).

    Dang. I hope either Cpanel or my host get this resolved soon.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. hw

    hw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any fix for this yet? I submitted a ticket and i'm waiting for answer.

    Thank you

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. hw

    hw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After searching the web I fixed this problem, I installed RPM "php-mysql" through WHM -> Install an RPM.

    I hope this didn't mess up something else.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. jough

    jough Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I thought that using WHM to re-build Apache/PHP/mySQL would have worked too, but while I can now log into phpMyAdmin and see the correct databases for my account, trying to select one resulsts in the message "No input file selected."

    Also, the phpMyAdmin logo doesn't show up. Or any graphics, for that matter.

    Very odd. I hope Cpanel fixes this soon.

    In the meantime, for those with irate customers, you can install phpMyAdmin within someone's web space - use http authentication and then all they'd have to do is log into their account via www.example.com/phpMyAdmin/ and enter their user name and password.

    There's no problem with phpMyAdmin itself - it has something to do with Cpanel's implementation of the permissions via a control user.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Danks

    Danks Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the php-mysql rpm fixed it for me too.

    I won't mess anything up either. it only provides

    /etc/php.d/mysql.ini
    /usr/lib/php4/mysql.so

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page