The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyAdmin problem

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by palit_guy, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. palit_guy

    palit_guy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have created an account and loggged into the cPanel for that account.

    From the accounts cPanel...
    If I try to open phpMyAdmin I get Wrong username/password. Access denied.
    If I try to create a database from the MySQL datases page I get Sorry, you have exceeded the maximum allowed databases.

    Am I missing a checkbox somewhere to enable this access?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the phpMyAdmin feature was disabled, you shouldn't be able to even see the icon for it. This sounds like an issue you may want to have your hosting provider contact us about.
     
  3. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check in WHM whether there is any limit for database creation.

    Main >> Account Functions >> Modify an Account

    Hope this helps....:)
     
  4. palit_guy

    palit_guy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I changed all the things that were set to unlimited to 25. CGI and Shell are both checked.

    I could understand that being the cause if the error message was different but it won't even let me log in. As soon as I click on phpMyAdmin it takes me to a page with the "Wrong username/password. Access denied." error.

    I've looked through every account feature/attribute I can find and I don't see anything that has anything to do with this. I've deleted and recreated the account a couple times and have even tried totally different account names.


    *bangs head*

    I can create all the databeases I want from the root WHM but they don't show up in that user cPanel nor is there any way to associate them with any particular user.

    When I'm in that user's cPanel under MySQL it doesn't show any databases. I can create users but it won't let me create db's. When I create a user, it doesn't really take as the user isn't listed anywhere after the creation.
     
    #4 palit_guy, Dec 19, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  5. dolby411

    dolby411 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem

    I have the same problem. Anyone have any solutions?
     
  6. wzd

    wzd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All of our clients are having this issue - It's getting really bad now as some bigger clients cannot import old databases into phpmyadmin because of access denied / no database priviledges errors

    It seems to me that not even cPanel knows this is going on.

    Just in case we thought this was server specific all three of our servers are having the same problem

    cPanel 11.24.4-R34387 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 4.6 i686 on standard

    cPanel 11.24.4-R34387 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 4.7 i686 on xen
     
  7. we3cares

    we3cares Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If possible, try to copy the database Mysql and restore it from another server which is working fine.

    We have done a fix like that.

    Make sure that the Mysql version, 64bit etc everything are alike.
     
  8. noox

    noox Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there already a solution? I noticed this issue some time ago on some of my domains. I already have databases on these accounts, but I cannot access them via phpMyAdmin: "Wrong username/password. Access denied." I can only access it via WHM phpMyAdmin and the root user.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you logging into the cPanel phpMyAdmin as root or a reseller? Or are you logging in as the cPanel user?
     
  10. noox

    noox Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm logging in as CPanel User. Then I get the message, that the username/passwort is not valid (I get it in German).

    When I log in as root I get a message that phpMyAdmin (for a user account) cannot be accessed with the root user.
     
  11. noox

    noox Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's a bit strange - I now could login with Google Chrome. With FF it does not work for some accounts ... It's not that big deal as I use the server mainly for myself. But I thought it's a cPanel problem and maybe a solution has been found meanwhile.
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not able to replicate this issue in Firefox on the latest EDGE build.

    It may be prudent to have our technical analysts take a look at this for you: http://tickts.cPanel.net/submit

    As for the message you received when logged in as root, that is normal. If there is no .my.conf file in the user's home directory that contains their username and password then you will receive that message whenever you try to use any database functionality while logged in as a reseller or as root to that user's account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page