Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

phpMyAdmin stuck on 2.11 even though update set to "current" tier

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by aww, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. aww

    aww Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I noticed my other servers are now running phpmyadmin 3.4 but I have one server stuck on 2.11

    Is there any setting that might be blocking the auto-upgrade?

    The server is on older centos 4.8 with mysql 4.1 but that really shouldn't stop an update, right?

    (whm set to Current tier and now on 11.30.2)
     
    #1 aww, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    phpMyAdmin 3.4 is only available on servers that use MySQL 5 or higher. If your server uses MySQL 4.1, then you must continue using phpMyAdmin 2.x.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. aww

    aww Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah okay, thanks for the insight.

    I guess I am waiting for 5.5 in 11.32 later in the year.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would suggest updating to MySQL 5.0 to check that everything functions, and then to MySQL 5.1 afterward rather than trying to update from MySQL 4.1 to MySQL 5.5 when that becomes available. Going in increments now would be preferable to waiting to do that profound of an upgrade path. I've seen enough issues with MySQL 4.1 to 5.1 upgrades when the server administrator did not do MySQL 4.1 to MySQL 5.0 first, so I can only imagine the possible database corruption issues that might occur if going MySQL 4.1 ==> MySQL 5.5.

    Of note, please ensure to have full MySQL backups prior to performing any MySQL upgrade(s):

    Code:
    mysqldump --add-drop-table --all-databases | gzip > /home/alldatabases.sql.gz
    This will save a copy in /home called alldatabases.sql.gz for all MySQL databases.

    If you ever need to restore from that backup, the command would be:

    Code:
    gunzip < /home/alldatabases.sql.gz | mysql -u root
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. aww

    aww Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the tips.

    I do a remote rsync backup of the daily backup directory nightly so mysql is pretty safe, at least right after 3am lol.

    I've never experienced a problem with 4.1 after several years of using it and hesitated to upgrade because benchmarks show myisam to be measurably faster in 4.1 vs 5.1

    I guess I will step through 5.0 to 5.1, etc. since nothing else has to be rebuilt for it.

    I've also read to run
    Code:
    mysqlcheck -A –check-upgrade
    aha:
    http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/upgrading.html
     
    #5 aww, Aug 16, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you only using MyISAM for the table engine? I ask because rsync of flat files for InnoDB storage engine tables wouldn't be the ideal way to perform a backup of MySQL. A proper MySQL backup using the command I've noted would be optimal for InnoDB table engine data, since it doesn't try to perform a copy of the data while it is being written to the database and /var/lib/mysql/ibdata1 file. You can end up with data not synced between the database and the ibdata1 file, causing MySQL to refuse to start up with InnoDB enabled.

    Now, if you are only using MyISAM and InnoDB is disabled, this wouldn't be a concern.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. aww

    aww Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yup, only MyISAM, I wouldn't be crazy enough to use innodb with 4.1

    Apparently cpanel backs up the .myd .myi files as well as does a .sql export, so it would seem pretty safe for recovery.

    But I will probably do an export right before upgrade anyway, you can never have too many backups.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice