The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyadmin through cPanel Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ramorse, Nov 18, 2014.

  1. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have one server where suddenly, clients can't access PHPMyadmin through their cpanel. Instead of automatically redirecting to PHPMyadmin it asks for a Cpanel login. But the account login I just used doesn't work. Using WHM 11.46.0 (build 14) which is the same on another server with no such issue.

    I can login to WHM as root and get to any database through PHPmyAdmin there. I can also get to PHYMyadmin for a specific account by logging in to the accounts Cpanel through WHM and then clicking on PHPMyadmin.
     
    #1 ramorse, Nov 18, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2014
  2. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have found several answers but they all say reset the cpanel password from within cpanel. I tried that on one account but it didn't work.
     
  3. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am having a conversation with myself! :p

    Anyway, I reset the password for mysql in WHM for the user's account that I had just changed, and that worked. It means I will have to do that for every account using mysql. So that's a real pain. I would really like to know if there is a script to resync them. And would also like to know why this happened.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Did you previously change the passwords for your accounts? If so, it's possible you did not enable the option to also change the MySQL password (it was an option available in previous versions of cPanel). Thus, changing the password via "WHM Home » Account Functions » Password Modification" corrects the issue.

    Thank you.
     
  5. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I read about doing that. I looked for that option when I changed the password. I didn't see anything, but when the password got changed mysql was one of the services listed as having been changed. So I just assumed it was now built in to the change password system. However, I guess it wasn't. I'll try it again on another domain and see.

    But still would really like to know what has triggered this.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I hadn't changed the password on that account for quite some time. So, I am still unclear what you mean. Do you mean that if, at any time in the past I had changed the password on a particular account the auto update of mysql would not happen when I change it now? I am not purposely trying to be obtuse, I am just trying to figure out what happened and the simplest way to fix it.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's difficult to say why exactly the MySQL passwords for the account became out of sync with the account password. I was suggesting that one possible reason was that the account password was changed in the past and the MySQL password was not changed at that time. Have you checked to see if an individual .my.cnf file is located in the home directories of the accounts effected by this? If so, does removing this file change the behavior?

    Thank you.
     
  9. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see. So you were asking if the password had been changed before the mysql sync was automatic. I suppose it's possible, but that would have been a long time ago and this just started happening about a week ago. Every account on the server that I have looked at has had this happen. I haven't checked them all, but the the couple I did check (having read about that, too) I could find no my.cnf in those accounts.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Wait a minute! I just looked at one of the accounts, the one where I changed the password in cpanel and the sync didn't work so I reset it in WHM as I described. That was a couple days ago and now there is a .my.cnf in that home directory and it was created Nov 18. The mystery grows.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's actually by design. It's not related to your issue, but you can find a thread on it here:

    [Case 108473] change in password creates .my.cnf in home directory

    Thank you.
     
  11. stormy

    stormy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just started having this issue with several customer accounts. Changing the password didn't fix it. I had to also suspend and unsuspend the account. Does this make any sense?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to submit a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  13. Peoplespaces

    Peoplespaces Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hs this been resolved or do we all have to submit a ticket?
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The previous poster did not reference a ticket number. If the other solutions in this thread were not helpful, please open a support ticket and post the ticket number here.

    Thank you.
     
  15. kmpanilla

    kmpanilla Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same issue as previously discussed. My support ticket Number is 5967629.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page