Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

phpMyAdmin UI issues when using an iPad

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by The Old Man, Oct 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. The Old Man

    The Old Man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I spend a lot of time accessing CPanel via my iPad for convenience when my PC isn’t to hand, and although I think CPanel is getting better with every release, I’ve noticed some issues with a couple of Cpanel’s facilities...

    Currently using v66.0.29 on CENTOS 6.9 virtuozzo.

    First one is phpMyAdmin 4.7.3, the SQL query editor. If you click to edit the text area where the query is contained, it only takes a few key presses before you have accidentally navigated to another page, for example if you press backspace or type h. It seems that access shortcut keys are enabled which causes this, making it practically impossible to quickly use the SQL query editor to paste and edit a query.

    Secondly in phpMyAdmin, I’m unsure if this is actually by design since you can pinch to zoom in and out... if you click on a database table with quite a few column fields, when it then opens in Browse view, the text is so small/view zoomed out, it’s totally unreadable, making it difficult to tap on a different menu option such as Structure, SQL or Search in order to see the other page options correctly.

    Lastly, relating to the new File Editor. When using an iPad, it seems you can’t select any text in order to copy/cut the content.
     
  2. cPanelAdamF

    cPanelAdamF cPanel Product Owner Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    We'd have to bring the issues with phpMyAdmin to that open-source community to be addressed. We're happy to offer phpMyAdmin, but the majority of maintenance and bug-fixes for it comes from them.

    The issue in the File Editor you report, though, is that also on your iPad? Are you using the latest editor or the legacy editor?
     
    The Old Man likes this.
  3. The Old Man

    The Old Man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you Adam. I understand re phpMyAdmin, the change seemed to happen about 3 versions ago. It seems the keyboard shortcuts are enabled by default, using a computer keyboard it obviously wouldn’t be a problem

    Re the File Manager editor, yes, when using an iPad and the latest editor. The background colour of the row changes colour when I select a particular line but you don’t get the iOS tool options to select, select all, copy, cut, paste etc. It seems sometime the copy, cut options do appear for use on one line but it seems random and rarely, and you cannot get any options to mark or highlight the text.

    Using the legacy editor, it seems to work for small sections of text but if you need to highlight say 1100 lines of text, the highlighted text keeps unselecting however carefully you scroll the page and drag the cursor over the text nearer to the bottom of the document, and you then have to scroll all the way back up to the top and try again.

    Regards,
    Graham
     
    #3 The Old Man, Oct 31, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2017
  4. The Old Man

    The Old Man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Regarding the phpMyAdmin editing issue when using an iPad, I've found this page that documents the keys:

    Introduction — phpMyAdmin 4.8.0-dev documentation

    Shortcut keys
    Currently phpMyAdmin supports following shortcuts:

    • k - Toggle console
    • h - Go to home page
    • s - Open settings
    • d + s - Go to database structure (Provided you are in database related page)
    • d + f - Search database (Provided you are in database related page)
    • t + s - Go to table structure (Provided you are in table related page)
    • t + f - Search table (Provided you are in table related page)
    • backspace - Takes you to older page.

    This page states how to disable the shortcut keys but I don't know why they are now on in recent versions by default as it makes editing code/text in the SQL box impossible, you type a h and the page changes to the home page, or if you attempt delete a typo, character or variable you've gone back a page etc :

    Configuration — phpMyAdmin 4.8.0-dev documentation

    Generic settings
    $cfg['DisableShortcutKeys']
    Type: boolean
    Default value: false
    You can disable phpMyAdmin shortcut keys by setting $cfg['DisableShortcutKeys']to false.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46,390
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please feel free to open a bug report for this issue and we can take a closer look:

    Submit A Bug Report

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. The Old Man

    The Old Man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Re: V66.0.29 UI issues when using an iPad

    I'm still experience this UI issue in CPanel and WHM 76.0.18 phpmyadmin but apologies, I can't recall if I ever submitted it as a bug.

    The keyboard shortcuts are still enabled by default when using an iPad to access phpmyadmin, making it impossible to edit or type a query in the phpmyadmin editor without the page suddenly navigating, closing etc potentially risking an incomplete SQL query from being run.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46,390
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @The Old Man,

    Can you open the support ticket for this issue? Ensure to include the step-by-step instructions on how to reproduce the behavior. You can post the ticket number here once it's opened and I'll link this thread to it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice