The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpMyAdmin USERS tab gone

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by jimlongo, Oct 16, 2013.

  1. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi, logged into phpmyadmin from WHM 11.40.06 as root.
    There is no longer a USERS tab.

    Thanks.

    Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 12.40.49 PM.png
     
  2. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Still not there after the 11.40.09 update, which now has phpmyadmin 4.08
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    As I understand it this functionality has been removed because of the Database Mapping Feature.
     
  4. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks,

    I don't understand - it's still in phpMyAdmin. Do you mean Cpanel has removed it?

    If you're referring to the WHM>SQL>Database Map Tool it's pretty limited. It doesn't show all users, permissions, etc.,

    For instance I have a user pma who is the user assigned to the phpmyadmin database, can't find that user anywhere.
     
  5. craigedmonds

    craigedmonds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Same here.

    Where is it gone?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Per internal case number 37402, the functionality to add/delete/rename users and databases through phpMyAdmin has been removed because of the database mapping feature.

    Thank you.
     
  7. craigedmonds

    craigedmonds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    So how do we grant data base users to be able to connect to views?

    The database mapping tool has very basic functionality.

    :eek:(
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can browse to the "MySQL Databases" option in cPanel, and click on the database username associated with the database to modify it's privileges.

    Thank you.
     
  9. jimlongo

    jimlongo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, but that still doesn't help with administrative users like pma. And it's a pain to have to navigate to individual cPanel interfaces instead of being able to deal with all of them from WHM.
     
  10. frankk27

    frankk27 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, this feature should have never been removed. This database mapping tool doesn't allow you to set privileges at the table or view level. Both of these features could be used together. For some people that use WHM to manage all of the sites and aren't resellers, it's nice to be able to create users that have select access to a few tables only so you don't have to supply write permission to an entire database.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are welcome to install an individual instance of phpMyAdmin, or to submit a feature request for the inclusion of features that are no longer provided:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
  12. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does this mean that we can no longer manage mysql privileges in phpMyAdmin ?
    I don't even see a way to list the users/privileges in phpMyAdmin. Selecting Check Privileges on the Databases tab doesn't seem to do anything.
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    To modify User Privileges:
    cPanel > Databases > MySQL Databases > click, username_username
     
  14. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is there no way to do it from WHM ?
    I have a number of MySQL accounts that are not hosting websites - ie. they are not cPanel accounts. How are the privileges for those accounts to be managed ?
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  16. jacampbe

    jacampbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay, I will consider installing a standalone instance of phpMyAdmin.
    Before going down that path, are you aware of any co-existence issues with running both standalone and WHM/cPanel instances of phpMyAdmin ? Do cPanel have anything documented in relation to possible issues and workarounds ?
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A standalone version of phpMyAdmin is installed the same way you would install any other script on an account. It's not something that cPanel would support, but it's usage should be fairly straightforward. It should not interfere with the phpMyAdmin provided by cPanel. You may want to password protect it (the directory it's installed in).

    Thank you.
     
  18. dotfleck

    dotfleck Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is a pain to do now, and I do agree that we should be able to access all users through WHM's phpAdmin, as in the not so distant past. I manage all of the domains on my servers. We create special, limited privilege users only for mysql, used for script access. The WHM Database Mapping Tool is useless. But there are some workarounds to the PHPAdmin limitations that CP has placed on WHM.

    If you are logged into WHM w/ root privileges, you can see the users for each table, and their privileges by clicking on the db, and then a table. You will now see the privileges tab within the table view navigation. You could use the information shown there to create an SQL Grant request, to edit a user's privileges (under the SQL tab). Of course this has to be looked at for each table in each database, because the privileges tab is not available in the table overview for the database. That's where the "pain" comes in. It only appears in the table view. There is also the "add user" link there. I haven't tried it in this scenario.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  20. OooLong

    OooLong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Why the heck was the ability to Create user and edit privilidges remove from PhpMyAdmin in the first place?. The task of managing MySql is a pain in the ass now with this limitation cPanel place on PhpMyAdmin. Why was this limitation implement in the first place? was there a benefit? All I get so far is frustration and pain in the rear end for us end user. Please put this feature back so we don't have to install a stand alone PhpMyAdmin. Thank You.
     
Loading...

Share This Page