The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phpmyadmin

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Luftwaffe, Aug 5, 2002.

  1. Luftwaffe

    Luftwaffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Why doesn't phpadmin display InnoDB as one of the type of tables that can be created. However on another server this option is enabled. Is there a speical way to enable users to creare InnoDB tables? Some phpmyadmin have this option and some don't.
     
  2. infinityws

    infinityws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'd like to know the same thing.
     
  3. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    what version of MySQL are you running ? Is it disabled in the my.cnf file ??

    Mickalo
     
  4. infinityws

    infinityws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm running 3.x. Whatever comes with cpanels basic install.
     
  5. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    then you need to update to Version 4.0.18 or .20 which comes with InnoDB enabled by default. Version 3.x+ doesn't come w/InnoDB enabled with the standard RPM's

    Mickalo
     
  6. infinityws

    infinityws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can it be installed on 3.x on a cpanel server?
    Is there information on how to do this?
     
  7. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Your better off upgrading to the 4.0.18 or .20 which is now the most stable version released.

    If you can get the 3.x RPM's for your system, use the mysql-max-server RPM which should have InnoDB enabled by default. If your positive your running version 3.x on your system, in the WHM you can do a "tweak setting" to have the next update go with version 4.x instead of 3.x.

    Mickalo
     
  8. infinityws

    infinityws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I'm just afraid that it might break some scripts...have you had any issues?
     
  9. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    No issues that I'm aware of. if you review the Mysql 3.x to 4.x Upgrade from MySQL docs, the only thing to be concerned about is the change in the user privilege setup.

    Mickalo
     
Loading...

Share This Page