The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pkgacct no compress question

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by iso99, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. iso99

    iso99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Afaik, using no-compress option in pkgacct still produces a .tar archive.
    Will compressing it manually yield a similar full cPanel backup file?

    I'm just checking if the contents of --no-compress and without it are similar.
     
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    With compression:

    cpmove-user.tar.gz

    Without compression

    cpmove-user.tar

    The backup structure stays exactly the same, just the 'x' option is not used when using tar, so the backup size will be bigger but may save you some CPU usage if that is your concern.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,706
    Likes Received:
    658
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    No, you are likely to see a size difference. For example, here's the size difference of a test account, one with the "--no-compress" flag (.tar), and one without the "--no-compress" flag (.tar.gz):

    Code:
    # du -sh cpmove*
    1.9M    cpmove-cptest01.tar
    620K    cpmove-cptest01.tar.gz
    Thank you.
     
  4. iso99

    iso99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yup, CPU and IO is actually my concern but wrapping them in LVE is a better idea, even with compression. It took 2 hours though for an 8gb account to be packaged.

    Additional question, where is the file configuration for the Backup WHM (not the legacy) user exclusion? Is this the only file that cPanel checks to see if an account will be excluded for the scheduled backups?

    Thanks!
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,706
    Likes Received:
    658
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The backup account exclusion setting is stored in the account's cPanel user file:

    Code:
    root@server [~]# grep BACKUP /var/cpanel/users/cptest01
    BACKUP=1
    LEGACY_BACKUP=1
    Setting the values to 0 will disable backups for that account.

    Thank you.
     
  6. iso99

    iso99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks!

    If I edit this file and changed BACKUP=0, should I run /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updateuserdomains?

    Can I run this right I edit after several files, instead of per user edit?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,706
    Likes Received:
    658
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that command rebuilds the cache. You can run it after editing multiple zones.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page