Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Please advise - Should i add more RAM ?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Astral God, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. Astral God

    Astral God Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi.

    As i don't really understand if i need more RAM or not, i would like to have you opinion.

    memory-month.png

    Thanks.
     
  2. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    A bit wouldn't hurt as your server is swapping a bit. Another 1Gb would probably be more than enough, otherwise if you're not worried about power consumption and the RAM cost then add as much as you can afford as it will certainly improve performance and allow for extra caching.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Astral God

    Astral God Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK, thanks for your reply.

    What i don't understand is why graph shows a bit of RAM as unused, but server is swapping... :\
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The following post offers some general information about memory usage that you or others viewing this thread may find helpful:

    Memory Usage Higher Than Expected

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Astral God

    Astral God Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks cPanelMichael.

    So, the question is: when looking at the graph, is the the server swapping because it is out of RAM ?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice