The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help, can't login!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by www-lab, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. www-lab

    www-lab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a weird problem here

    I can't login into WHN with a root password. I can do that in ssh, but not WHM?

    How can I fix that?

    Thanks
     
  2. letheos

    letheos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's funny, I can log into WHM with my root password, but on one of my 2 servers, I can't log into SSH as root. I can login as a user and see files under that user's folder, but I can't access the folders above that.

    I thought it might have to do with the fact that I have changed my root password through WHM (as should be done periodically), but I've used WHM to change my root password on my other server, and I can still access both WHM and SSH with the new root password.
     
  3. solan

    solan Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've fixed my box by doing this

    pico /etc/cpupdate.config (edit this file)

    -----------start-------------
    CPANEL=stable
    RPMUP=stable
    SYSUP=stable
    ----------end---------------

    then run
    /scripts/upcp

    this will revert your cpanel back to

    8.5.3_STABLE_3

    WHM / cPanel all works

    /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel -V
    8.5.3-STABLE_3

    cat /etc/redhat-release
    Red Hat Linux release 7.3 (Valhalla)

    uname -r
    2.4.20-20.7

    perl -v
    This is perl, v5.6.1 built for i386-linux

    mysql -v
    server version: 4.0.15-standard

    php -v
    PHP 4.3.3 (cli) (built: Nov 12 2003 21:52:27)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2003 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2003 Zend Technologies


    +++++Happy I finaly figured it out++++++
     
  4. solan

    solan Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    letheos

    thats messed up! it sounds mostly like a premissions problem to me ;)

    chown user:user /home/user
    then
    chown -R user:user /home/user/public_html
     
  5. letheos

    letheos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would love to try that, but I can't SSH as root! :eek:

    Read my first post again... :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page