The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help - dnz zones not shown on slave servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pingo, Jun 10, 2003.

  1. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does anybody here know how to fix this problem. When I choose 'Edit DNS Zone' in WHM the list is not shown - it is empty. The same happens on both slave servers. I tried:

    - restart bind on the master server
    - /scripts/fixndc on all servers
    - Rebuilding DNS Zones List from master server on both slaves (Synchronize DNS Records With Primary Nameserver)

    but nothing helps. Any help is gratefully received.

    Thanks
    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Looks like the openSSH upgrade broke the trust relationship.

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No bloody kidding.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It seems that cpanel is not storing the password for the master nameserver. Watching the logs on the master you will see the authentication fail. If you manually run dnstransfer it prompts for the password. This is what is wrong and needs to be corrected.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks dgbaker - a sys. adm. fixed the problem. I'm not sure what he did but now it works again. :)

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    John - Can you find out what he did? I am stuck with not only my own having this issue, but another client as well on new server setups.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry, I forgot - he actually said that. Yesterday we did a manual upgrade of openSSH that broke the relationship. It were fixed by installing openSSH through WHM. We know that the version which comes with Cpanel is not secure, but we'll let it be this version for one or two days, do some research on why DNS sync were not working with the latest version of openSSH, and then proceed with upgradation to the latest build.

    John
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks, and to go one step further, the actual issue is the authorized_keys file is totally screwed. You can use the later openssh but the authorized_keys should be generated manually and not use cpanel to create the trust.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, thanks for this information.

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks Howard.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, thanks for the link :)

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ack!

    Need a bit of help with this guys.. please.

    I installed openssh3.5p1 and just noticed that none of my dns zones were listed... so i tried rolling back to 3.1 by using the install software part of WHM and now it has completely locked me out... Have I missed out on doing something?

    thanks in advance

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. joshstein

    joshstein Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry I am bumping an old thread, but how did you fix this? We are using OpenSSH 3.5p1-11. I am having the same problem as all of you: the trust creates, but no zones show in cPanel and any time a site is added it gets access denied when trying to add the zone to the master server. Doing /scripts/dnstransfer correctly syncs everything because it asks for the root password. Everything works when I create my own set of keys (so I can log on to the master server with ssh wtihout any password using root), but this creates a security problem. Does anyone know how to fix this so I don't have to create my own keys so it allows one server to log onto the other without a password?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry, but I had an external sys adm fix it for me. I don't know what he did.

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does every site on the slave server require a zone file on the master? in other words is it possible to have sites set up on a slave using only that slave as the primary DNS??

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page