The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

please help me using ssh (very urgent)

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by mr-cracker, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. mr-cracker

    mr-cracker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi everyone
    i think this is common problem among many, i'm getting this message
    "For security reasons, shell access is not enabled by default. In order to activate shell access on your account, you will have to contact your server administrator"

    i searched and i found somewhere that i should run it on domain.com:2082 and not ip:2082 but the problem name servers still didn't propagate, is there any way else i can solve this,
    i used bigdump.php but there r no semi colomn ie no luck

    regards
    please understand i really need a solution urgently
     
  2. psychodreams

    psychodreams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is this on your own server or an webhosting account you got somewhere. ssh has to be enabled in WHM if the host allows it. And youd have to know the port that ssh is running on or access it through the cpanel. This isnt something that can be turned on via cpanel only through the whm
     
  3. mr-cracker

    mr-cracker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank u for replying...

    its on a hosting account, i generated new key will that benefit me,

    can u explain this step by step bcuz i never used ssh shell i was on manged shared hosting but now i'm on un managed vps

    regards
    waiting to hear from u or any other
     
  4. lngtanseco

    lngtanseco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are you trying to enable SSH access for your users?

    Or,

    You don't have SSH access to your VPS? In this case, your VPS provider should be able to help you gain access to it.
     
  5. mr-cracker

    mr-cracker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi there
    i bought dedicated server i want to access ssh for my self how can i enable it, please say it step by step

    regards
     
  6. mr-cracker

    mr-cracker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    please any help its really urgent
     
  7. mr-cracker

    mr-cracker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    please guys does any one have any idea or solution
     
  8. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Your post is a bit confusing. BigDump is a utility for importing large databases, nothing to do with ssh.

    Have you tried using putty? If not do a google search for it, download it, install it, read about it.
     
  9. mr-cracker

    mr-cracker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    look i uploaded 2 copy of database, one 206mb but bigdump can not import it bcuz phpmyadmin didn't insert ";" at the end of line, and another copy 460mb but there is an error at 4% when using big dump

    now i want to import the first copy using ssh, i know the command but i can log in into ssh, can u help please

    what is putty and how can i import my database using it, please help me if u can
     
  10. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Putty allows you to connect via SSH which is what you said you wanted to do.

    If the db is showing errors with Bigdump then I would imagine the errors are going to be there no matter how you try to import the db. You'll need to either get a good dump of the db or edit the dumps you have and fix the errors.

    Putty is well known and used often for ssh. If you do a google search for it you should find all the info you need.
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:


    If you do not have shell access, you'll need to contact your provider. No one here can help you with that. Bumping the thread won't help either.

    You can find Putty, and instructions for using it, here.
    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

    If you have full access to the server, you could enable full shell via your WHM and use the built in shell access of your own cPanel account. Providing you've set it up properly via Feature Manager in WHM. (SSH Connection Window)


    Short of all of that, if you are unsure what you're doing, time to put out a few bucks and hire someone to assist you. For that you might view threads in the ads and offers forum here, or check out this forum for other options.
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com

    I think we all understand urgency, but you've got to understand that you are on your own for most everything on your own server.

    Educating yourself before its urgent is suggested.

    Best of luck to you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page