The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help Me!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mystickcal, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. mystickcal

    mystickcal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay I'm having a problem and I can't quite figure it out. I recently moved servers and did a transfer of all accounts and stuff. (Might have nothing to do with that but though I would say it incase it is the problem) After moving the accounts over and changing my nameservers and stuff it took forever for my sites to change over and load correctly and stuff...For about 2 days they went up and down, up and down...I konw dns can take up to 48 hours but I had never acutally seen this :) Anyways, finally everything is okay in terms of my websites loading and stuff but I'm having a problem with my ftp and mail. I thought maybe it was also the dns but its been 4 days now and I'm still having a problem with those....however...its a weird problem. If I login to any of my accounts via cpanel or whm they all load fine and I can access my email completely fine. However, if I try to configure my email via like outlook express I can't get it to work. I've tried over and over and over. I know its not my settings. I'm also having the same problem with my ftp. If I use an ftp program like cuteftp I can get in fine but I have some blogs at blogger.com and when I try to update them and blogger tries to ftp it to my sites I get errors. So it seems almost like its stopping external things from getting in or something...I don't know what else to try so if anyone could help I would greatly greatly appreciate it!
     
  2. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First thing I would try is http://www.dnsstuff.com to see whether everything resolves OK. I'd test all the different address - ie www.domain.com, domain.com and mail.domain.com.

    Apart from that, I'd describe exactly what is happening when you can't configure email. I'd also give your domain name, so we can look at it remotely.
     
  3. mystickcal

    mystickcal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Everything seems to be resolving okay...

    When I try to access the stuff I just keep getting login errors...

    Here are two different ips I'm having problems with

    http://www.animedevotion.com - Having problems where blogger can't connect via ftp to update the blog

    http://www.my-web-hosting.com - Having problems where outlook can't connect via mail to update my mail.

    Is there nay other info you need? Please help!

    EDIT: For example when I try logining into my account via outlook it says my login id or password is wrong...however I tried even deleteing the email account and redoing it and it still says it can't verify it....
     
    #3 mystickcal, Oct 29, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2006
  4. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If your personal computer is running Windows, it saves a copy of the dns cache on your computer. This can cause look up problems if you moved a site that you visit a lot or if you visited just before changing the nameservers.

    Click start/run then type in ipconfig /flushdns

    This will clear the dns cache off of your computer and may help with the problems you are having.
     
  5. mystickcal

    mystickcal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes I've already tried this as well...I've flushed my dns on my computer and I called in to my internet provider and was told they dont' cache anything cause someone told me sometimes your internet provider did. Any other suggestions...I really need to get this fixed lol.
     
  6. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When u try to ping the domain name what IP do you get on your PC?

    Also, try resetting your modem, sometimes ADSL/Cable modems cache IP addresses. By 'resetting' I mean turn off, then turn on again.
     
  7. mystickcal

    mystickcal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes have tried all of that. It pings to the right ip and I've powered off my modem and let it stay off for like 5 minutes just to make sure :p Any other ideas...I really think it has to do with setting inside of cpanel or whm and not with dns or cacheing...
     
  8. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You're probably right on the IP, I suspect something's going wrong with logging in at the cpanel end. What URL are you logging into, and what exactly are you doing to try to login? What error message are you getting?
     
  9. dan_c

    dan_c Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Restart your cppop service and you should be all set.
     
Loading...

Share This Page