The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help to find the mistake of setting up WHM or DNS/MX records

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by helmuc, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. helmuc

    helmuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good afternoon,

    Have I done something wrong with setting up dns and nameservers?

    I have just taken a dedicated server at RapidSwitch and the domain is at 123-reg, and it just seems I'm doing something wrong there...

    Although the website is working: email isn't working nor do the ftp data (can't use them in filezilla) :/

    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/4c9aa340-b629-42b0-9a0e-6f6d3d9ee218/mx.png

    When I was setting up WHM:
    nameservers I chose: ns1.domain.co.uk and ns2.domain.co.uk
    hostname: server1.outlived.co.uk​

    Server technical details:
    IP Address: 212.38.xxx.xx
    Subnet/Prefix: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 212.38.xxx.x
    1st DNS Server: 87.117.xxx.xxx
    2nd DNS Server: 87.117.xxx.xxx
    3rd DNS Server: 87.117.xxx.xxx

    -----
    -----

    1st time I changed only the nameservers at 123-reg to ns1.domain.co.uk and ns2.domain.co.uk and did add the new IP address 212.38.xxx.xxx for both of them.

    the website wasn't loading anywhere in the world within 12 hours.

    Tests were performed with https://www.whatsmydns.net/

    But it did load just fine when I added these lines to my windows hosts file:
    212.38.xxx.xxx domain.co.uk
    212.38.xxx.xxx www .domain.co.uk
    -----
    -----
    2nd time I did reset nameservers to 123-reg default (screenshot):
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/e697a6d6-a223-4bea-9280-37d163feb3fd/2014-02-04_1312.png

    and used advanced dns editor to and did this:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/b805e16a-82e6-4ba7-81d7-d846ac489d16/2014-02-04_1314.png

    right after the website started appearing on random name servers around the world...

    A question: Has everything has been done correctly?

    humm... I have heard some thoughts that maybe I have to set up some subdomains like ns1 and ns2, but the person wasn't really sure about that.

    Nothing would make me more happy if I could reset advanced dns settings to the default values and stick only to updating nameservers.

    Thank you in advance for your advice and expertise,
    Helmuts

    ---

    At this point I am thinking that maybe I didn't have to set up my own ns names, but use the default ones (that were suggested by the system whil setting up WHM).

    p.s. I would really appreciate clear instructions what has to be changed as so many settings are really confusing for me :/ thank you :)
     
    #1 helmuc, Feb 15, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2014
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    your SMTP port is not open
    and you might want to fix the errors
     
  3. helmuc

    helmuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Isn't smtp port a windows issue?

    humm... omg... I'm so confused :/

    here is another email configuration screenshot from my cpanel:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/441db941-29ac-46cb-afd3-0aeed28c1aff/2014-02-16_1019.png

    ------ next ---------

    here is the configuration screenshot of WHM mx entries:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/df0d3354-4e1b-401d-b5a9-eeedf21b0a41/mx-entries.png

    ------ next ---------

    and dns zone settings for server1.outlived.co.uk:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/06f68c7f-91d4-470d-8381-3791d4497976/server1-settings.png

    all my guts tell me that there is something wrong with that server1 / as well I haven't configured or created any other records for it after setting up whm.

    I really appreciate your help,
    Helmuts
     
  4. helmuc

    helmuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    another strange thing is that system notifications usng info(at)outlived.co.uk are actually going through...

    here is a screenshot of a confirmation of an approved test ad (I manually approve all the ads before releasing them):
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/2b17d3ce-c46e-4b39-8526-07e4da0751f1/approved.png

    --- and ----

    here is the screenshot of WHM sent email summary:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/7f3bcc8d-dc94-43e9-a923-aff6ee75ab92/sent-summary.png

    any advices?

    tx :)
    Helmuts

    p.s. I apologise for bombarding you guys with all these screenshots.. I just don't know what is important and what isn't :/ :) tx
     
  5. helmuc

    helmuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    oh.. completely forgot this part (blush)

    This is the mail delivery error message:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/427d6900-6c3e-42f9-adcb-41104fa41773/error.png

    thank you in advance,
    Helmuts
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    your domain is not using cpanel's DNS servers its using your registrars changing your settings on your cpanel server will do nothing
     
  7. helmuc

    helmuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you Dalem for your comment - what should I exactly change?

    anything here:
    /http://content.screencast.com/users/helmuc/folders/Jing/media/b805e16a-82e6-4ba7-81d7-d846ac489d16/2014-02-04_1314.png
    ?

    thank you in advance,
    Helmuts
     
  8. helmuc

    helmuc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    np.. tx anyway.

    I have found a guy who will guide me through this process :)

    all the best to you all,
    Helmuts
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please ensure you upload images/screenshots directly to the post as an attachment instead of providing a third-party URL. This provides users with a more trusted environment for reviewing images. Let us know if you require any additional assistance with your DNS configuration.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page