The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help! WHM/Cpanel Can Not Upgrade!???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thankyou, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi cpanel.net friend,

    Today I've tried many times to upgrade my WHM/Cpanel from WHM 9.9.0 cPanel 9.9.1-R6
    FreeBSD 4.9-RELEASE i386 - WHM X v3.1. to the Newest FreeBSD STABLE WHM 9.9.2-cPanel STABLE_9 (Tue Oct 12 00:00:38 2004).

    But every time when I started to upgrade via WHM's Upgrade to Latest Version, I only saw this:

    10%

    cPanel/WHM Update


    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Ftp Setup Script Version 1.0
    This is the proftpd installer


    The upgrade process is always only 10% finishes, and then always halted there, no more processing! ------ This is my 1st time to see this from cpanel experiences. What happened there?? :confused:

    About 10 days I upgraded WHM/Cpanel to WHM 9.9.0 cPanel 9.9.1-R6
    FreeBSD 4.9-RELEASE i386. Everything was fine and was successfully done.

    However, for several days my WHM has shown the BIND 9 down, and the (named) Red Light is on now from WHM's Service Status, so today I'd better upgrade to this Newest Stable WHM/Cpanel, in order to make the BIND 9 problem resolved and I expect with this newest WHM/Cpanel stable upgrade the poor BIND problem (in coping with FreeBSD OS) and some other small problems can be cured, but now I really do not know why I can not upgrade my WHM/Cpanel!? What's the problem???

    Any friend here, please advise me how to recognize this issue and how to solve the problem!


    Thank you very much indeed!


    Best regards,

    T.Y. :(
     
    #1 thankyou, Oct 15, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2004
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Have you tried logging in as root and from a shell running:

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/upcp --force

    ??
     
  3. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you SarcNBit for your helpful advice!

    But, now I can not SSH into my server---my SSH logon always halted in the SSH logon process. It's 1st time to see this. This is caused by the BIND 9 down or other issues like hacks on the server??? (almost every day there are hacks trying to illegally log on my server, or send many emails to my server! So aggressive and bad!!!) :(


    More advices are highly expected and appreciated!


    Thank you very much indeed!


    T.Y.
     
  4. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    If you cannot SSH in then you need to contact your datacenter to look at your box.
     
  5. webits

    webits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This might be helpful also download bfd, apf etc.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=27627&highlight=Security+APF

     
  6. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you friends for help!

    I've contacted with my server provider for all these issues, and am now waiting for tech support.


    T.Y.
     
  7. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Still looking forward to getting tech support/help for these issues.

    No tech response came today.

    What are the most possible causes that I can not SSH into my server?

    How to securely solve the headache Named Down (on FreeBSD OS) problem and make the Named stable with FreeBSD?

    I heard Named has been comparatively smooth on Linus server, but why Named is easily getting problems with FreeBSD server? :(


    Please advise!

    Thank you very much indeed!


    T.Y.
     
  8. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would contact your host by phone and tell them your server is down. I`m sure they can reboot it for you at least. I had one server acting the same way. The reboot should start named so you can ssh back in.

    Do you have dedicated IP's on this machine for your domains?
     
  9. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi easyhoster1,

    Thank you very much for help!

    Yea, my machine is a dedicated server running FreeBSD OS, with 6 dedicated IPs. (I have different usages of these IPs.) I've contacted with my server provider today, but still not having any tech response. Distress!

    So, I have to continue posting the terrible issues here, trying to get help/advice here. Sorry to bother you all!


    T.Y.
     
  10. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You will not be able to fix it until someone can reboot it...Call your provider and tell them you need a reboot. I still have a issue with one of our boxes, but still waiting for Adam a cpanel tech to get back to me. I have a feeling that BIND fell apart because of the dedicated IP's. Try to call your host at least to get your server back up so you can SSH into it.
     
  11. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi eos1,

    Thank you for help!

    Yea, now I really worry about my two very important MySQL Databases in my Cpanel---these scripts are easily get broken---I've paid much and spent much time for those scripts. Some parts of the scripts got broken under server outage before. So, scare to death now for the third-party customised commercial software.


    Don't know how to deal with all these now!


    T.Y.
     
  12. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you easyhoster1,

    All today I've been contacting with my server provider. But what the heck there seems no one there, as today is Saturday?


    T.Y.
     
  13. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yea, you're wise. Weekend is the bad time to upgrade server software or send tickets to the provider---very slow or just no response as today! :mad:

    Those owner guys look like escaping from overwork or for doing something on weekend?


    T.Y.
     
  14. thankyou

    thankyou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi eos1,

    What you said just now means that today's several times' broken, dead upcp will not hurt my MySQL database scripts in my Cpanel, as "cPanel will take care of them too"??

    Would you please give me more detailed advices/tips on the issue that if the cpanel's MySQL database scripts can be hurt in parts or not.

    Many thanks!

    Looking forward to hearing from you!


    Thank you very much indeed!


    T.Y.
     
  15. rastaman

    rastaman Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have a same trouble.
    i type ./updatenow
    Updating /scripts...rsync: getaddrinfo: rsync.cpanel.net 873: Temporary failure in name resolution
    rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(83)
    Done

    ./upcp --force
    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    SENT ipcheck email
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    Checking /dev/hdb....Excessive Errors
    Checking /dev/hdc....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Ftp Setup Script Version 5.0
    This is the pure-ftpd 1.0.20 installer release number 9.tls for platform redhat 9
    pure-ftpd is up to date. Use ftpup --force to force a reinstall
    Using Mysql4
    Using RPM Backend: RPM version 4.2
    Fetching rpm updates list...Unable to retrieve file
    Died at /scripts/HTTPreq.pm line 12.
    Using RPM Backend: RPM version 4.2
    Fetching rpm updates list...Done

    gzip: /root/.cpupdates/10-25-2004.updates.gz: unexpected end of file
    Cannot fetch rpm updates list at cPanelRPM.pm line 160.
    Done

    gzip: /root/.cpupdates/10-25-2004.updates.gz: unexpected end of file
    Cannot fetch rpm updates list at cPanelRPM.pm line 160.
    rsync: getaddrinfo: rsync.cpanel.net 873: Temporary failure in name resolution
    rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(83)
    Bad arg length for Socket::pack_sockaddr_in, length is 0, should be 4 at /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.1/i686-linux/Socket.pm line 373.

    i can't download updates, have some ideas ?
     
  16. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Run a search on rsync and browse through some of the recent posts dealing with the same issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page