The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ciao.amore, Mar 8, 2002.

  1. ciao.amore

    ciao.amore Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Look,... I'm desperate,... I can't stand it anymore.
    I said to our support team on trouble-free.net to update the cpanel cause there were some minor problems with bind (in a single day I recived 128 messages like bind failed @ Thu Feb 28 09:29:00 2002. A restart was attempted automagicly.),... & cpanel itself with a webfilemanager that finishes on 404 The page can not be found while you save the edited files....

    They said that that was the last version 3.6 (I heard that there was a new 4.0) & that the other updates ain't possible. But they did update proftpd cause it didn't work correctly,... I couldn't ftp to certain domains at all via ftp, only via file manager.
    Look the message:
    Attempting to restart proftpd
    proftpd status proftpd (pid 26766) is running...

    proftpd: [500 != 220] proftpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.

    NOT TO MENTION THE IMAP. IMAP IS NOT RUNNING AT ALL ON MY SERVER. Is this normal or?!!! I need it. I really do, cause I don't know how to use anyother language to create mail accounts (pop3 or imap) on the server & php has an excellent support for it - imap. If you know where can I find some script in perl or php to do it with pop3 (how to create pop3 accounts with perl or php? Any idea where can I get that info?),.. If this could be done via script than this could remain as it is NON FUNCTIONAL (IMAP). I wonder why did you include it in the package if its not working at all?!!
    Probably there was something wrong with the installation of the cpanel & whm right?
    Can you please tell to trouble-free.net how to fix that problem? Please, please,...

    & after the proftpd update.... THE RESULT IS A REAL DISASTER.
    NOW THE WHOLE SERVER CAN NOT RECIVE NOR SEND EMAILS at all,... Thats crazy indead. Not one domain,... but the whole server. That's driving me nuts.

    Than they also say that this is normal:
    Attempting to restart httpd
    httpd status Not Found

    The requested URL /server-status was not found on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

    (for better comm. with them TTS number: Urgent help needed [330218:34663]...)
    Is this normal?!! I can not belive that.

    They're trying to help,... but I've got still a lot of things that don't work in the whm, but hope to solve this problem with the mail after all. I can not work without email.

    Please give me a hand to solve this mail thing.
    Thanks for yoyur help.
    Regards.

    Gord
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:2cea9cba2f][i:2cea9cba2f]Originally posted by ciao.amore[/i:2cea9cba2f]

    Hi,

    Look,... I'm desperate,... I can't stand it anymore.
    I said to our support team on trouble-free.net to update the cpanel cause there were some minor problems with bind (in a single day I recived 128 messages like bind failed @ Thu Feb 28 09:29:00 2002. A restart was attempted automagicly.),... & cpanel itself with a webfilemanager that finishes on 404 The page can not be found while you save the edited files....

    They said that that was the last version 3.6 (I heard that there was a new 4.0) & that the other updates ain't possible. But they did update proftpd cause it didn't work correctly,... I couldn't ftp to certain domains at all via ftp, only via file manager.
    Look the message:
    Attempting to restart proftpd
    proftpd status proftpd (pid 26766) is running...

    proftpd: [500 != 220] proftpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.

    NOT TO MENTION THE IMAP. IMAP IS NOT RUNNING AT ALL ON MY SERVER. Is this normal or?!!! I need it. I really do, cause I don't know how to use anyother language to create mail accounts (pop3 or imap) on the server & php has an excellent support for it - imap. If you know where can I find some script in perl or php to do it with pop3 (how to create pop3 accounts with perl or php? Any idea where can I get that info?),.. If this could be done via script than this could remain as it is NON FUNCTIONAL (IMAP). I wonder why did you include it in the package if its not working at all?!!
    Probably there was something wrong with the installation of the cpanel & whm right?
    Can you please tell to trouble-free.net how to fix that problem? Please, please,...

    & after the proftpd update.... THE RESULT IS A REAL DISASTER.
    NOW THE WHOLE SERVER CAN NOT RECIVE NOR SEND EMAILS at all,... Thats crazy indead. Not one domain,... but the whole server. That's driving me nuts.

    Than they also say that this is normal:
    Attempting to restart httpd
    httpd status Not Found

    The requested URL /server-status was not found on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

    (for better comm. with them TTS number: Urgent help needed [330218:34663]...)
    Is this normal?!! I can not belive that.

    They're trying to help,... but I've got still a lot of things that don't work in the whm, but hope to solve this problem with the mail after all. I can not work without email.

    Please give me a hand to solve this mail thing.
    Thanks for yoyur help.
    Regards.

    Gord
    [/quote:2cea9cba2f]


    Gord,

    Are your running DarkORB Cpanel?
     
  3. ciao.amore

    ciao.amore Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    YES

    Hi,

    thanks for answering on this issue.

    & Are your running DarkORB Cpanel?

    Are there some differences? Yes I think I do. I didn't know that.
    WebPanel Admin 3.6.0 (c)
    As far as I remember from a cpanel it was something like this in html commenttag: something by John N Koston & darkorb communications.. on add.... if I'm not mistaken?

    Thanks. Again.
    Regards.

    Gord
     
  4. kwimberl

    kwimberl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WebPanel is not supported by DarkOrb. It is a VDI product.

    Long story about this, but that's the bottom line. You will need to contact VDI to get it sorted.
     
  5. ciao.amore

    ciao.amore Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    vdi huh,... I was sure that I saw once in the cpanel your company. Tell me one thing who's the real developer of the cpanel? Is it an opensource solution,... or...?
    WHM & Cpanel bellong to who? I thought that you developed it.
    & in fact your company ain't under those tags in the cp anymore, nor is the virtual development inc.

    I would appritiate if you could answer this.

    However I do understand your position. You're not involved in this issue with the vdi

    If there is some tiopic that can not be sorted out, to who can I turn to for those issues? Can I post it here?

    Thanks again for your kind answer.
    Regards.

    Gord

    If you wish you can answer on this question bellow, I would appritiate that very much. I don't know anymore to who to turn to.

    I think I know what is the problem of the mail failure. I sent a message to trouble-free while ago (they disabled the mail tts system so I can get any ticket number,... nothing. They disabled everything, billing, sales, helpdesk,... & ofcourse support email tickets. I wonder why are they hidding? What are they affraid off?), but they continue to ignore it, and as a result my mail is off:

    interchange failed
    Disk /hda7 (/var) 100 %

    Stopping portmap services: [FAILED]
    Stopping identd services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down lpd: [FAILED]
    Stopping at daemon: [FAILED]
    Shutting down console mouse services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down SMB services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down NMB services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down X Font Server: [FAILED]
    Shutting down NIS services: [FAILED]

    error: db1 error(28) from db-&close: Unknown error: -1

    Those two gifs are blinking in red.
    & than also Disk /hda8 (/) 65 %. Linx ain't my world, I'm learning it now, so...
    Can you only tell me which unnecessary files (& where) should I delete to solve this?

    rm /var/some_useless_files.ext &*&
    or...?

    & for hd8? What can I delate there?

    Current Disk Usage
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda8 251M 153M 85M 64% /
    /dev/hda1 23M 3.6M 18M 17% /boot
    /dev/hda6 6.4G 258M 5.8G 4% /home
    /dev/hda5 6.4G 1.2G 4.8G 20% /usr
    /dev/hda7 251M 251M 0 100% /var

    How ever I don't understand why did they assign only 251M for those partitions. On my localmachine the swap is 1gb & not 251M? & it works just fine.
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey-

    If the software you are running is this:
    WebPanel Admin 3.6.0 (c)

    Then, you need to gallop on over to VDI for support.
    Period. End of story.
    CPanel/WHManager = Darkorb (www.cpanel.net)
    WebPanel = VDI (www.vdi.net)

    Don't post things of this nature here unless you have a machine with a CPANEL (not WEBPANEL), license.

    Thanks!
     
  7. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:e27846817f][i:e27846817f]Originally posted by ciao.amore[/i:e27846817f]

    Hi,

    vdi huh,... I was sure that I saw once in the cpanel your company. Tell me one thing who's the real developer of the cpanel? Is it an opensource solution,... or...?
    WHM & Cpanel bellong to who? I thought that you developed it.
    & in fact your company ain't under those tags in the cp anymore, nor is the virtual development inc.

    I would appritiate if you could answer this.

    However I do understand your position. You're not involved in this issue with the vdi

    If there is some tiopic that can not be sorted out, to who can I turn to for those issues? Can I post it here?

    Thanks again for your kind answer.
    Regards.

    Gord

    If you wish you can answer on this question bellow, I would appritiate that very much. I don't know anymore to who to turn to.

    I think I know what is the problem of the mail failure. I sent a message to trouble-free while ago (they disabled the mail tts system so I can get any ticket number,... nothing. They disabled everything, billing, sales, helpdesk,... & ofcourse support email tickets. I wonder why are they hidding? What are they affraid off?), but they continue to ignore it, and as a result my mail is off:

    interchange failed
    Disk /hda7 (/var) 100 %

    Stopping portmap services: [FAILED]
    Stopping identd services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down lpd: [FAILED]
    Stopping at daemon: [FAILED]
    Shutting down console mouse services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down SMB services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down NMB services: [FAILED]
    Shutting down X Font Server: [FAILED]
    Shutting down NIS services: [FAILED]

    error: db1 error(28) from db-&close: Unknown error: -1

    Those two gifs are blinking in red.
    & than also Disk /hda8 (/) 65 %. Linx ain't my world, I'm learning it now, so...
    Can you only tell me which unnecessary files (& where) should I delete to solve this?

    rm /var/some_useless_files.ext &*&
    or...?

    & for hd8? What can I delate there?

    Current Disk Usage
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda8 251M 153M 85M 64% /
    /dev/hda1 23M 3.6M 18M 17% /boot
    /dev/hda6 6.4G 258M 5.8G 4% /home
    /dev/hda5 6.4G 1.2G 4.8G 20% /usr
    /dev/hda7 251M 251M 0 100% /var

    How ever I don't understand why did they assign only 251M for those partitions. On my localmachine the swap is 1gb & not 251M? & it works just fine.
    [/quote:e27846817f]


    VDI has a source license for Cpanel version 3.0 (that call their version webpanel) .. we have nothing to do with this product as it stands now.
    Darkorb Currently produces Cpanel 4.5 which we will happily support in this forum if that is what you are running. You might want to ask them to change over to Cpanel 4.5 if you are having lots of problems.
     
  8. ciao.amore

    ciao.amore Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay,..

    That might be a solution,...

    BUT I DON'T WANNA SEE NO COPYRIGHT IN THE HTMLTAGS!!!

    no in cp nor in whm! NO WHERE! Can you be professional enough to accept that, knowing that we pay for the service...?!!

    Can this be done?!! Otherwise I'll buy PLESK or the other one that cost three times less & you pay only once.

    would be possible to buy the licence once,... I wonder why would people pay the rent monthly 99 bucks anyway? Kinda MicroSLOT menthality.

    Nothing made by... & licensed to...

    I would like to work with resellers,... so... I consider myself vey FER & ETICLY speaking PROFESSIONAL. Their clients shouldn't see nothing that has to do with our company,... Nor with the company from where I lease the dedicated servers.

    ON WINDOWS MACHINES WE DON'T HAVE THOSE PROBLEMS,...
    ONLY WITH LINUX,... THE REASON WHY I DON'T RESELL SPACE ON MY DED. LIN SERVER.
     
  9. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    CPanel is totally customizable and is made to be so nobody will know what you are running. All you need to do is make a custom theme and remove anyhting that mentions canel. ITs not hard at all. As of right now in the default theme all that has to be edited is the top where there is a logo split into a bunch of different images. You can recreate a new one for this. The next thing is a new feature just added that shows version and locations of stuff on your system. You can either remove the api call for this or try to edit the file to not show the cpanel version and still get the rest of the features. Also in WHM you can setup users with their own dns servers. So you will be completely anonymous. The WHM theme is customizable with skins also. So again you can remove anything having to do with cpanel. At this time the only thing that I can see as a issue is when you login. When the username/pass box comes up it says WHM 4.5.0 and when cpanel pops up it says cpanel4.5-VERSION. Other that that which most users wont even notice this software is made to be editable to your likings. And I'm sure if you submitted a feature request there would be a way to chage what gets displayed on the login prompt. As a matter of fact I'm interested in doing this also and I may submit a feature request. But I suggest getting cpanel on your system as it is the best software I have ever seen.
     
  10. ciao.amore

    ciao.amore Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    SYSTEM PROBLEMS with /dev/

    Hi,


    Look can someone tell me what can I delete on the /dev directory?

    interserver.net & trouble-free.net (and in fact you pay to have the trouble for free) including vdi.net support really sucks. After a few days I'm still on:

    Disk /hda7 (/var) 100 %
    interchange failed

    My MAIL SERVER is completelly dead. in(pop3)/out(smtp) all dead crazy.

    Are there some precious files in that dir,... or I can delete the whole /dev/ :

    rm -r /dev/

    Can someone give me a tip please?
    & if someone else knows for a quality dedicated server service with whm/cpanel 4 (or above darkorb only NO VDI.NET) or above I would like to know about it.

    interserver.net had a nice dos a few days ago,... I presume it was an ex client. ;-) They drive us crazy & provide no support.
    & please do not delete this post. Those sirs should learn to assist theirs clients as everybody else do.

    Thanks.
    Regards.

    -gord
     
  11. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    The reason why your VDI (WebPanel) still contains references to Cpanel/DarkORB is becuase they (VDI) basically don't have the resources nor teh knowledge to remove and or replace those things. They basically have a old version of Cpanel that they improve/upgrade/whatever how ever they choose to. You really need to contact them. The people you pay. VDI.

    If you were running a genuine version of &Cpanel& by DarkORB ..you would have about 50 people in here alone doing their best to help you and I bet Nick would have already fixed your box personally.

    My suggestion is pick up the pieces of what's left of your business and run like hell as far away as you can from VDI.
     
  12. ciao.amore

    ciao.amore Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yup,...

    Thanks. I'm sure your right. Ain't easy to make business with people who don't care about their customers.

    That's sad indead. Realy sad, still people like them earn more than usual honest companies I guess. ;-) No tts, no board,... no nothing, even the devil can't reach them & still....

    I can understand things like: Look I realy don't know what to do! or I'll get to you back latter, I gotta ask someone about it,... etc. but ignoring desperate support requests,... It's just a wund that doesn't heal.

    Take care.
    See ya.

    Gord
     
  13. abnormis

    abnormis Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    rm -r /dev/

    omfg, is it just me or is this thread hilarious. :D

    -Marc
     
Loading...

Share This Page