The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please take a look at this ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sanam, May 24, 2002.

  1. sanam

    sanam Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi,
    My resolv.conf and /etc/hosts looks like this. could you tell me if its ok ?

    etc/resolv.conf
    +++++++++++
    domain darkorb.net
    search darkorb.net
    nameserver 205.162.50.248
    nameserver 66.96.193.2
    nameserver 66.96.194.2

    etc/hosts/
    +++++++++++
    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 hostname.domain.net hostname localhost.localdomain localhost


    Thank Youuuu
     
  2. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    It will be just fine as long as burst.net nameservers don't die.
     
  3. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    Those will work but i dont recommend using them, change them to what ever your NOC recommends you set yours to or run named on your server and use your own system to resolve domains. You'll notice that WHM and connections are much faster.

    Oh... and for /etc/hosts if everything is working ok them leave it alone but i beleive it should be 127.0.0.1 localhost on the first line
     
  4. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    resolv.conf

    can this be setup to use our own dns? any pro or cons to this vs the DC dns
     
  5. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    well you can use multiple nameservers. If you want to use your own machine then i recommend doing this in your resolv.conf


    domain yourdomain.com
    search yourdomain.com
    nameserver yourbaseip
    nameserver yourDataCenterNameServer1
    nameserver yourDataCenterNameserver2
     
Loading...

Share This Page