Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Plesk 10 to cPanel migration

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by wmguk, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. wmguk

    wmguk Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi,

    I have a plesk 10 service (Which is a joke now btw!) and I am moving to a new server using cPanel.

    I have tried to transfer and it moved about 10 clients, now it says

    Any ideas what has happened?
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We do not currently support migrating from Plesk 10 to cPanel. The reason is that Plesk 10 uses a different authentication system from previous versions, and this is not compatible with current versions of our transfer scripts.

    This is also posted in the following locations:

    Technical Advisory: Plesk Panel 10 Migrations - cPanel Inc.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f338/technical-advisory-plesk-panel-10-migrations-182121.html

    We apologizing for this inconvenience. Our developers are studying this to determine the best way to move forward, but for now, we do not support migrations from Plesk 10 to cPanel.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. wmguk

    wmguk Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    :( Ohhhhh, It worked on the first 10 clients but now it is just saying not not supported :(

    Looks like plesk 10 not only killed the plesk system, its messed everyone else up too!

    :(

    I'll have to have a look manually - its just cause I have 70 clients to move :(
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update: Plesk 10 migrations are now supported.
     
  5. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you please confirm migrations from Plesk 10.3 is still supported.

    Amazing why Parallels refuse to offer a migration method from the Plesk 10 fiasco back to Plesk 9, but I guess they'll find out the hard way.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    We would be happy to migrate you over. Submit a ticket with us and we will be happy to get the process started.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Does cpanel have migration tools built into the software or can you only migrate as a service?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can use the transfer options provided in Web Host Manager to transfer accounts from Plesk 10.3.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks. A slightly more complicated question: I need to transfer 500+ domains from a Plesk 10.3 server to a Cpanel server. Obviously during the transfer they will need to have different IP addresses, but once transferred I need to change the sites back to the original IP address.

    In Plesk you would either have to change the IP address one by one for each domain, or create a script to use provided CLI commands. Is there a reasonably easy way to do this in Cpanel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The IP Migration Wizard is a useful feature for such a task:

    IP Migration Wizard

    This will allow you to update the IP addresses for the accounts with just a few clicks.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Excellent! Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm about to put an order in for a cpanel license. They're asking me for the IP address, so I guess cpanel binds to one. How will that work in the context of my situation as explained, where we migrate to one IP address and later change it?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you acquire your license from cPanel.net/store then you can update the IP address on the license later to reflect the server's new primary publicly visible static IP address. For further details, I recommend emailing cs@cpanel.net so our customer service team can discuss your specific needs.
     
  14. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I intended to buy the license through cpaneldirect.net - they're considerably cheaper than getting them from you and it was my impression that it didn't make any difference where the license was purchased?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    That will work too.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Great. So I guess I order the license with the temporary IP address and then change it when the IP change?

    Sorry for the flurry of questions, next time I'll know :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. cPanelJesse

    cPanelJesse Technical Analyst Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you can have the IP address changed at anytime. We will also outline the entire process once you open a support ticket with the migration team. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well I've done a ton of Ensim-Plesk and Plesk-Plesk migrations so I guess I'll get around Plesk-Cpanel too. Timing is essential so if I have to coordinate with you guys and have everything to line up time wise it probably gets a little complicated.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. cPanelJesse

    cPanelJesse Technical Analyst Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We actually cater to your scheduling and how you want them to be transferred (such as certain accounts, or certain times). It's a very nice service we offer and has been very affective for other customers wanting to migrate.

    We also have 24/7/365 phone support so you can call one of our migration analysts at any time.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. madsere

    madsere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Wow, you do migrations weekends in the middle of the night? Cool. Not used to that level of service from the Russians....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice