Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Plussed addressing in Exim

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by newbery, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. newbery

    newbery Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'm trying to get a "plussed addressing" scheme set up on cPanel/Exim.

    Adding...

    local_part_suffix_optional
    local_part_suffix = -* : +*

    to the "virtual_aliases" driver in /etc/exim.conf doesn't seem to do the trick.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. newbery

    newbery Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Okay... I think I figured it out.

    Added these lines to the "virtual_aliases_nostar" driver instead and it seems to work.

    Now, does anyone have any suggestions on how to protect or recover this configuration after a cPanel update?
     
  3. norelidd

    norelidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Vote for this bug if you want subaddressing, or plusaddressing, to be supported. I've requested it before, but haven't gotten far.

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5292

    I'd love to see a frontend made so that users could choose to make folders for different subaddresses, or even have cpanel make the folders automatically for each new subaddress it finds. I remember seeing a few lines of exim.conf settings that would do this, but beats me how it would be configured for our/cpanel's needs.
     
  4. newbery

    newbery Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks for the link. I'll have to study this a bit before I weigh in with my vote but I think I agree.

    In any case, my usecase is slightly different than that described in the bugzilla report. Not trying to get user sub-addressing but rather the ability to allow plussed addressing in the domain email forwards. This allows for some fairly convenient throwaway addresses as an anti-spam strategy. To achieve this, I've replaced the old "virtual_aliases_nostar" driver with the following two drivers:

    virtual_aliases_suffix:
    driver = redirect
    allow_defer
    allow_fail
    local_part_suffix_optional
    local_part_suffix = -* : +*
    data = ${if exists{/etc/valiases/$domain}{${lookup{$local_part$local_part_suffix@$domain}lsearch{/etc/valiases/$domain}}}}
    file_transport = address_file
    group = mail
    pipe_transport = virtual_address_pipe
    retry_use_local_part
    domains = lsearch;/etc/localdomains

    virtual_aliases_nostar:
    driver = redirect
    allow_defer
    allow_fail
    local_part_suffix_optional
    local_part_suffix = -* : +*
    data = ${if exists{/etc/valiases/$domain}{${lookup{$local_part@$domain}lsearch{/etc/valiases/$domain}}}}
    file_transport = address_file
    group = mail
    pipe_transport = virtual_address_pipe
    retry_use_local_part
    domains = lsearch;/etc/localdomains
    #unseen

    So far this seems to work just fine. Now I just need to figure out how to retain this configuration after a cPanel update. Any suggestions are welcomed.
     
  5. RyanM

    RyanM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I have tried what newbery has suggested, but am getting errors.

    I am running Exim 4.63 on WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.1-S14304 and RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0. I have an alias file, mydomain.com, in /etc/valiases with the following line:
    bounces@mydomain.com: "|/usr/bin/php -q /home/user/bounce.php"

    When emailing from Gmail, for example, I get this error back in my Gmail account:
    Here is the lines from exim_maillog that are relavant...
    The really odd thing... I know that my script, /home/user/bounce.php, is running because I see output from it on the server.

    Thanks in advance for help from anyone,
    Ryan
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice