Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

plz help i got problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Yojek, Apr 4, 2004.

  1. Yojek

    Yojek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Ashdod, Israel
    i dont know what heppend

    this is the report from WHM

    apache (1.3.29 (Unix)) failed
    bind (9.2.1) failed
    cppop up
    cpsrvd up
    exim (exim-4.24-30_cpanel_stmpcontrol_antivirus_rewrite_mailman2) up
    eximstats up
    ftpd failed
    imap up
    mysql (4.0.18-standard) up
    syslogd up
    Server Load 0.00 (1 cpu)
    Memory Used 12.6 %
    Swap 1 %
    Disk hda2 (/) DMA+ 3 %
    Disk hda1 (/boot) DMA+ 18 %
    Disk hda8 (/home) DMA+ 1 %
    Disk hda7 (/tmp) DMA+ 100 %
    Disk hda5 (/var) DMA+ 2 %
    Disk hda6 (/usr) DMA+ 18 %

    plz help fast
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    One thought, although it might no be the final solution ...


    /tmp is at 100%

    get rid of all extraneous files and try restarting bind and apache!

    Oops, and ftp as well.
     
  3. Yojek

    Yojek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Ashdod, Israel
    how i do that?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    If you have root access to the server, which at this point I highly doubt, you can log into SSH and clean out /tmp, and inside Root WHM you can restart services.

    If you don't have root access you need to contact your hosting provider.

    Vince
     
  5. Yojek

    Yojek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Ashdod, Israel
    i hava root access
    what i need to write to do clean tmp?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    type: cd /tmp (will move you into tmp directory)

    type: dir (will give you directory listing)

    type: del FILENAME (replace FILENAME with name of file in directory listing)

    keep doing the del FILENAME until you have freed up some space in the /tmp directory.

    I don't mean to be harsh, but it seems you do not have the experience required to run a server. You should really consider hiring a system admin to run your server for you or buy a few books to learn how to do things yourself.
     
  7. Yojek

    Yojek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Ashdod, Israel
    thanks for the help
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Yojek

    Yojek Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Ashdod, Israel
    del all the files
    or not?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Well that depends on what you have in there.

    On my server the tmp directory is empty :)

    Since it's named /tmp I would assume any file in there is a temporary file and would be safe to delete.

    Vince
     
  10. Dillard

    Dillard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Except for the /tmp/mysql.sock , you want to keep this one.

    But I agree with the last writers, if you have root-access and don't this basic stuff, you'd better hire a sysadmin. It may be not as easy as it seems to keep a server in good shape....
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice