The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Point old Server to new Server?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by connorlong, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. connorlong

    connorlong Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    I have a new server. I have used WHM to copy all the accounts from the old Server over to new Server. So far so good.
    The problem is, I want to make sure that my clients are accessing the new server and not the old server while I update the new NS on the individual domains. These are co.za domains and will take about 24 hours to resolve.

    Is there a way I can point or update the Old Server in a way that any atempt to access it i.e mail.CLIENTDOMAIN.co.za automatically goes to the New Server. I would want to make sure that new mail been emailed to my clients is going to the mail boxes on the new server and not the old.

    Thank you.
     
    #1 connorlong, Oct 8, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2006
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    set the DNS for all of the domains to the ip of the new server
     
  3. connorlong

    connorlong Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks. But do I have to do it for all the individual accounts or is there a way to do all the accounts at once?;)
     
  4. levelsupport

    levelsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do the following
    Code:
    cd /var/named
    perl -pi.bak -e "s/[oldip]/[newip]/g" *.db
    make sure you have a backup of your named files before you proceed.
     
  5. designeru

    designeru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hint!

    As i know... you have in WHM "change multiple sites ip address"... i think this will help you ;).

    Also, you can do some firewall redirects until the propagation is complete. Check man iptables.
     
  6. levelsupport

    levelsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    that doesnt allow you to change the ip to THAT of a different server ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page