The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

POP Accounts for ADDON Domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by autson, Aug 30, 2002.

  1. autson

    autson Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do I add a POP account for a &addon& domain.

    For example I have an account with the domain test.com and I've used the Addon Domain feature to add the domain hello.com

    I need to create a pop account for the addon domain:
    pop@hello.com

    how do I do that without it being:
    pop@test.com

    which is seems to be by default if you simply add a mail account.
     
  2. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can't. Add-on domains only get e-mail forwarders.
     
  3. autson

    autson Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well that sucks..
     
  4. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just a minor obstacle to work around. All you have to do is forward to a popmail box on the account's regular domain.
     
  5. autson

    autson Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That's not the same thing. The customers want specified pop accounts not a forward to a different one.
     
  6. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    [quote:bae6d97813]How do I add a POP account for a &addon& domain.[/quote:bae6d97813]

    The way we did when we wanted to add an email forwarder for an addon domain and we couldn't: set up another domain.
     
  7. akfallin

    akfallin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Setup a new account for the addon domain and you can choose mailonly as the control panel theme. This will make the control panel only have options for email:)
     
  8. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Main Domain: test.com
    Addon Domain: hello.com

    When you add an email address, it lists it as

    something@test.com

    However, if you send mail to &something@hello.com&, it works fine, it just doesn't appear cleanly in CPanel.

    I have tested this and it works.
     
Loading...

Share This Page