The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pop3 connection does not retreive email

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by wadearnold, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a client that makes a successfull login via pop3, the user has mail in the inbox, and the pop3 connection does not bring back any errors. The user can see the emails via webmail too.

    I know there is a config file that had to be deleated in order to get this to work again. AKA i have had this problem before. But I can not seem to find the file or the answer to this problem with "search"

    Thanks for the help!
    wade
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    delete the .cppop.cache.msgs and .cppop.cache files from their mail folder.
     
  3. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is this bug going to be rectified?
     
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    My experience has been that this only happens to my clients when they are using Netscape for email and they select the option to leave messages on the server.

    I did not even think POP3 was supposed to do that. Isn't that what IMAP is for?
     
  5. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    POP3 supports it. I had been using that feature for a long time even with my ISP.

    I have people using it with Outlook and Outlook Express and they faced the same problems.

    I know we can delete the cache files, but that's a bug if we have to do that.
     
  6. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have had a ticket open regarding this matter since December 22 and I don't think cPanel is close to fixing this. When I mentioned that deleting the cppop files fixes the problem the tech said " Ok, I'm glad to hear it's working again :) Would you like me to close this ticket for you?"

    The only customers who experience this problem are people who configure their mail clients to leave email on the server for a certain period of time. At some point the message count stops being tracked in the cppop files so the mail client thinks there is no new mail.
     
  7. palash

    palash Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i also have same type of problem , during dec.
    think this is bug in new cpanel 8.0:D
     
  8. fluxbox

    fluxbox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can not use any pop3 account (with Outlook, Express etc.) But I can read the mails in Cpanel and that requires a lot of time... :(
     
  9. fluxbox

    fluxbox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem...
     
  10. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have it, too. Any progress on this?
     
  11. spleck

    spleck Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    me too

    I'm having the same issue with clients on my cpanel servers. Guess it's time to break out with a cron job to remove cache files older than a day or so, or just plane nuke them :)

    Seems like stupid things like this are always required with cpanel... :(
     
  12. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It would be nice if there was an easy way to simply turn off caching.

    Or, better yet, Nick to ge it fixed.
     
  13. dhecker

    dhecker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cache?

    cache files?

    i thought this was because of the lock files.. am i confused?
     
  14. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This particular problem we are discussing is meeasges that show up in webmail, but won't download via POP3.

    The lock file is an issue with mail getting stuck in the queue.
     
  15. TheSpidre

    TheSpidre Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Re: cache?

    I have problems with both. I think they are 2 different issues.

    Another issue is that when someone makes a connection to pop3, the connections are ~10, while it should be 1 only..

    #ps aus | grep 'cppop'

    Will list the cppop processes, you can see the usernames in front of the lines..
     
  16. fluxbox

    fluxbox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've got this error in Outlook Express:

    The host 'mail.ozgurforum.com' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'info@mydns.com, Server: 'mail.mydns.com', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11004, Error Number: 0x800CCC0D

    mydns stands for my domain name.

    Could someone of the Moderators help us please...? :rolleyes:
     
  17. nat

    nat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you setup your DNS correctly, change the nameservers at your registrar And allowed a few days for propgation?

    Your problem looks differnet than the others in this post.

    If you cannot conenct to your pop mail server, perform a trace route on port 110 from your computer to the mail server you are using. In addition, use DNSreport.com and run a test on mail.whateveryouareusing.com. You also listed ozgurforum.com as the domain but then you listed a differnet mail server than mail.ozgurforum.com. mail.ozgurforum.com would be what is normal. mail.ozgurforum.com does not exist.
     
    #17 nat, Jan 26, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2004
  18. fluxbox

    fluxbox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, the dns is 100 % correct, and it's registered so it couldn't be a problem... And at the begin it has beeing working..
     
  19. fluxbox

    fluxbox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks...
    Well I've forgotten to edit that... :) The mailserver is mail.ozgurforum.com.
    My settings are the same (mail.ozgurforum.com) for POP3 and SMTP and using the port 110.

    I did and trace route on dnsreport.com and got this:
    Getting MX record for ozgurforum.com... Got it!

    What can be the problem, it's very difficult... :confused:
     
  20. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This generally happens when the cache files get corrupted from either a server reboot or some other reason.

    If this happens, you should have a copy of the inbox file, and the .cppop.cache and .cppop.cache.msgs file and open a ticket so we can diagnose what happened.
     
Loading...

Share This Page