Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Pop3 Daemon Dies Down...no Errors :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chakky, Apr 17, 2003.

  1. chakky

    chakky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi,

    Pop3 daemon on the server seems to die down at a particular moment of time everyday :(.

    When I restart cpanel services, this is the only error I seem to find out.

    ANY IDEA HOW TO CORRECT THIS??
    ==============
    startinterchange: Critical Error: /proc is not mounted)!
    Apr 17 09:01:23 startinterchange: Attempting to mount /proc...
    Apr 17 09:01:23 cpanel3: startinterchange startup succeeded
    Apr 17 09:01:24 stunnel[20352]: stunnel 4.04 on i686-pc-linux-gnu PTHREAD+LI
    BWRAP with OpenSSL 0.9.6b [engine] 9 Jul 2001
    Apr 17 09:01:24 stunnel[20352]: FD_SETSIZE=16384, file ulimit=1024 -> 500 cl
    ients allowed
    Apr 17 09:01:24 stunnel[20352]: Error binding pop3s to 0.0.0.0:995
    Apr 17 09:01:24 stunnel[20352]: bind: Address already in use (98)
    Apr 17 09:01:24 cpanel3: startstunnel startup succeeded
    Apr 17 09:01:24 whostmgrd: ==> Web Host Manager 6.2.0 Server Starting.....
    Apr 17 09:01:24 cpanel3: whostmgrd startup succeeded
    ===========
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Spain
    If you want that error not to appear you have to kill stunnel manually before restarting cpanel3. For example:

    # killall -9 stunnel-4.04loc
    # /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel3 restart

    Issue for instance a pstree command to find out what process name stunnel has in your system.

    But I don't think this has anything to do with your daemon's dying everyday.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chakky

    chakky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi,

    Yes when I ran /scripts/updatenow and then /scripts/fixmysql to correct the mysql problem, I noticed stunnel was occupying the port 995 which was what cased cppop not to run, but otherwise is there something I can do to correct this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. tomnikz

    tomnikz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    India
    Chakky,
    I do believe the stunnel.conf is something that should be running for the secure pop to work ...
    Any other work-around to make the pop going without kiling the poor old stunnel ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice