The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

POP3 Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by canadiancow, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    New Installation Problems

    I setup a new box today, and transferred all my accounts over from another server. I can't login to email now. I've tried changing the password, to no avail.

    The server is giving me:
    -ERR Temporary problem, please try again later.

    cPanel 11.24.4-C35075 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    FREEBSD 7.1 amd64 vmware on ******

    Edit: Service status is showing:
    named (9.4.2-P2) up
    pop up
    sshd up
    Server Load 0.07 (4 cpus)
    Memory Used 18.60 %
    Swap Used 0.00 %
    Disk /dev/da0s1a (/) 44 %
    Disk /dev/da0s1d (/tmp) 0 %
    Disk /dev/da1s1d (/backup) 9 %

    Where are the other services?
     
    #1 canadiancow, Apr 27, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  2. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Service status is now showing:
    cpsrvd up
    exim failed
    exim-26 failed
    ftpd (1.3.2) up
    httpd (2.2.11 (Unix)) up
    imap failed
    mysql (5.0.77) up
    named (9.4.2-P2) up
    pop up
    sshd up
    Server Load 0.11 (4 cpus)
    Memory Used 18.30 %
    Swap Used 0.00 %
    Disk /dev/da0s1a (/) 44 %
    Disk /dev/da0s1d (/tmp) 0 %
    Disk /dev/da1s1d (/backup) 9 %
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah...

    Any idea when it will be supported? I don't particularly want to go through the hassle of setting up a new system...or is there any easy way to copy everything over?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have no ETA on FreeBSD 7.1 support at this time.

    A full sever backup is the easiest way to copy everything over to another cPanel/WHM server.
     
  6. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'd like to do this minimizing downtime, but I'm not quite sure the process. Since my new virtual machine will have the same IP address, I can't have them both running at the same time, unless I can easily change the IP after. But then I run into licensing issues.

    How can I make a full server backup, and would that include all my configuration settings as well as accounts?

    I've seen a few people running cPanel/WHM successfully on FreeBSD 7.1...am I able to get any support (maybe it's a simple issue?), or am I out of luck since my OS isn't technically supported?
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The best way to do this to minimize downtime is to bring up a second cPanel/WHM server on a separate IP address. A separate IP address is needed for the second cPanel/WHM server to be licensed at the same time (to minimize downtime).

    Information about copying a configuration from an existing server to a new installation is available in our advanced installation guide and other items listed at:

    http://twiki.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/view/AllDocumentation/InstallationGuide/WebHome

    Then you can go onto your new cPanel/WHM server and go to the Transfers section of the WHM interface and click on Copy an account from another server. Just answer the questions and when asked if you want to use "express transfer" or "point the DNS records to the new server" - check that box. This will transfer the account from your FreeBSD 7.1 server to your new server and point the DNS to your new server. This curbs the downtime issues that arise from DNS propagation. After transferring the account, ensure things are still working then proceed with this process for the next account.

    You could also use "Copy multiple accounts from another server" to do all accounts at once or to do the migrations in batches.
     
  8. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can't seem to find any information on copying the configuration from one server to another. How can I do this?
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To copy a configuration file (such as cpanel.config mentioned in the Advanced Installation Guide), many people use the scp command.
     
  10. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, I meant that I can't find the advanced installation guide that tells you what needs to be copied.
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Which, specific, configurations are you looking to copy over?
     
  12. canadiancow

    canadiancow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Everything. I've managed to do the EasyApache configuration, but I'm not sure what other files should be copied over.
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Configuration files typically end in .conf .cnf or on rare occasion .ini (e.g. php.ini). You could locate (using the locate command) these files and copy them over to the new server.

    Common configuration files I can readily recall include:
    /etc/wwwacct.conf
    /etc/cpbackup.conf
    /etc/stats.conf
    /etc/proftpd.conf
    /etc/pure-ftpd.conf
    /etc/my.cnf
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    /usr/local/php4/lib/php.ini (if you are running concurrent PHP)
    php.ini files in /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/...

    If you are also looking to copy over account packages you could copy over the contents of /var/cpanel/packages, for feature lists copy /var/cpanel/features. There are other things in /var/cpanel you may find useful to copy over (e.g. DNS zone templates) so you may want to explore /var/cpanel for what you wish to copy over.
     
Loading...

Share This Page