The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

POP3 says bad password, webmail works fine!

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Xenon101, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have been battling this problem myself for the last few days, I even tried converting to maildir with no success so wiped the box. I can connect fine with IMAP (and i'm guessing thats why webmail is working) but in outlook it is a different matter.

    For simpleness the account username is 'test' and the domain is 'test.com'. The POP3 server is 'mail.test.com'. The actual account im testing with is a real domain and it is on the servers dns.

    When the account username is specified as the username for pop3 it works fine (with the right password). However when we use emaimaddy@domain e.g. testaccount+test.com with the correct password it fails with an error.

    Code:
    There was a problem logging onto your mail server. Your User Name or Password was rejected.  Server Response: '-ERR Authentication failed (bad password?)'. (Account: 'mail.test.com', POP3 Server: 'mail.test.com', Error Number: 0x800ccc92).
    I've been holding off moving clients to this server for 3 days so far, one of which has pre-paid and is getting pissed off at the delays. If anyone has any ideas why this is happening or has dealt with it before please please please reply!
     
  2. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
  3. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Checked, double checked & tripple checked all outlook config. All is well.

    A few additions to my post above:
    I can send through the SMTP server using those credentials.
    Up until 2 days ago I was able to login using my username & password. Since then I have fully re-installed the OS, cPanel & all other software, it didn't help.

    I am thinking that if there were any changes to any config files around 2 days ago that would have been picked up by cPanel update in Release updates settings that could be the cause of this problem.

    Does anyone know where the executable for cppop is located? And where any configuration files are? I have tried looking but cant find it anywhere :confused:
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    try this

    service xinetd stop
    service cpanel restart
    service xinetd start
     
  5. dreamwiz

    dreamwiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This has worked for us many many times in the past few days:

    1) Remove account from Outlook
    2) Turn off Outlook and restart it
    3) Re-add the account
    4) DONE! should be working all fine.

    If this doesnt help remember to reboot all your mailserver software (exim, pop3 and imap)
     
  6. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    omg after 4-5 days of being completely and utterly stumped service stop xinetd; service restart cpanel; service start xinetd worked!

    Does anyone know what doing this actually does? I'd be intriged to find out why it suddenly works after this.

    Edit: also a big thanks to Dalem for the fix :D i owe u! and cheers to everyone else for helping :)
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is this a VPS server I have noticed that it will do this on a Virtuozzo server ?? there is most likely another pop3d running remove it or disable it
     
  8. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It is a virtuozzo server yes! I don't believe there are any other pop3 servers running although dunno as http was installed from the original hdd image.

    Code:
    root@calypso [~]# whereis pop3
    pop3:
    root@calypso [~]# whereis pop3d
    pop3d:
    root@calypso [~]# whereis cppop
    cppop:
    root@calypso [~]# whereis pop
    pop:
    root@calypso [~]#
    
    From this i would guess there isn't another pop3 server installed but i could be wrong
     
  9. Apoc

    Apoc Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This would be the solution for any Virtuozzo environment:

    - go to /etc/xinetd.d
    - pico every file with the word "pop" in it and make sure disable is set to "yes" on all of them
    - restart xinetd
    - restart cpanel

    Problem solved :)
     
  10. Xenon101

    Xenon101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow cheers for the help guys. Workin great now :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page