The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

porsentry on cpanel mmm... :|

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sh4ka, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,
    I see portsentry opens two ports:

    1/tcp open tcpmux
    111/tcp open sunrpc

    root@server [/home]# ps -aux | grep "2342"
    root 2342 0.0 0.0 1528 492 ? S 04:26 0:00 /usr/sbin/portsentry -tcp
    (111 is using same PID)

    I know porsentry assist a Linux user in their attempts to stop crackers from breaching their fortress.
    But I at this RH Ent.3-cPanel system, i can nof find any porstentry.conf configuration file to see if it has a rule-set and if it is really doing the work... or if it is jus there running doing anything, just wasting cpu..

    Can anyone please tell me if we can remove this ports safety? and if not where to find the configuration file ?

    thkz!
     
  2. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    please, anyone knows about this?
     
  3. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    check /etc/portsentry
     
  4. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I need to know if the cPanel-RHAS systems needs this service running... because i never installed, it came with the original installation.. and I don't use it neather.. so.. is it safety to be removed??? do you have it open at your cPanel boxes?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I always remove it, especially if you have an iptables firewall configured such as APF as portsentry will only cause conflicts.
     
  6. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    thkz chirpy!
     
  7. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What do u mean remove it ?
    By kill the process or remove the portsentry script ?

    I found two of my servers got this portsentry using port 111.

    netstat -lntp

    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:1 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 8258/portsentry

    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:111 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 8258/portsentry

    8258 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/portsentry -tcp
     
  8. ispro

    ispro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It seems like cPanel does require it... At least upcp install the portsentry package...
     
  9. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How can I effectively remove portsentry?
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Better to just turn it off:

    service portsentry stop
    chkconfig portsentry off
     
Loading...

Share This Page