The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Port 2086 site name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MichaelShanks, Jul 5, 2003.

  1. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This used to show the server hostname and was a very handy feature for tracking down the server accounts were on,

    Has this feature been disabled and is it possible to have it reenabled? even if it is in the tweak menu.,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    bump

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. EcpHosting

    EcpHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, this has been our way to track server names (because no one seems to remember to place their server name in the support requests). We back this idea up, any way we can see this returned?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. terryjacobs

    terryjacobs Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, it's a complete pain if you ask me. Many customers don't know the server name. I want to just click on their URL and add 2086 to find what server we're dealing with. However now I need to do a lookup on the IP or do a mailserver query via checkdns.net to find the name.

    I see no sensible reason why they removed this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah this was a good feature i used to check all the time!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. EcpHosting

    EcpHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has anyone found the source code line for this? Perhaps we can stop waiting for the folks at CPanel to resolve this and just resolve it ourselves. Anyone? I would ask, but too busy responding to all the support requests from exim4 and all the other lovely things introduced with this 'stable' release. :rolleyes:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. EcpHosting

    EcpHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    *bump*

    .. kind of important for support here... :rolleyes:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just leave a ssh window open and ping the domain name. It will show the IP address.
    Most of our servers are easy-
    *.*.*.21 = server 1
    *.*.*.22 = server 2

    For the ones that arent so easy just put a handwritten list by the computer- I dont think its that hard...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Host4u2

    Host4u2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, they never said "how" Stable :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page