The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Port 2087/2083 daily issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JeremyL, Dec 1, 2001.

  1. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For some reason, on a daily basis when I try to go to https://server.doamin.net:2087/ I get a \"The page cannot be displayed\". At the same time I can go to http://server.doamin.net:2086/ and can log into the WHM. At first I though it was SSL failing on the server, but if I go to https://www.livedomain.com at the same time and SSL on that domain works fine. So I\'m not sure if it\'s just the SSL cert for localhost failing or if it\'s because of port 2087 shutting down for some reason. The only way to fix it is by rebooting the server. And then a day later it happens again. Any idea why?

    Now on to the next. Port 2083 is showing page cannot be displayed on a permanent basis and rebooting does not help at all. For example if I go to http://www.rockhosting.com:2082/ I can login fine. But if I go to https://www.rockhosting.com:2083/ I get the page cannot be displayed on a permanent basis.

    How can I rectify this? It appears to be either a SSL or a CPanel issue.


    [Edited on 12/1/01 by JeremyL]
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hummmmmmmmmmm....

    Look at your portsentry configruation.... anything weird that would be yanking those ports into oblivion? Try killing all portsentry processes, leave them dead, then /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel3 restart

    dice? no dice?
    Firewall issues beyond your box?


    Travis
     
  3. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well restarting portsentry seemed to have fixed it. It works with it back on now to. but it\'s really weird. i can find nothing to tell me why it was doing it and I checked every file of portsentry I could find.

    /var/lock/subsys/portsentry
    /var/portsentry/portsentry.blocked.tcp
    /var/portsentry/portsentry.blocked.udp
    /var/portsentry/portsentry.history
    /etc/portsentry/portsentry.conf
    /etc/portsentry/portsentry.ignore

    Now I just have to wait and see if it comes back.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can basically count on the problem to resurface- portsentry by habit scrutinizes everything above the 1000 ports... all the time, no matter what you tell it basically. It\'s anal once you go over tcp port 1024, no matter how you think you have it configured to ignore higher ports.

    Basically I cron a portsentry/cpanel cycle script that runs 2 to 3 times a day on our machines.... it keeps everything in sync, you just have to find a schedule that fits w/ your machines / your environment.


    peace.
     
  5. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So just cron a file to do


    #!/bin/sh

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/portsentry stop
    sleep
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel restart
    sleep
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/portsentry start

    every day or twice a day then?
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Basically- sure!
    There are other things you could build into something like that, but for what you were having a problem with.... that will take care of it, or at least make sure that things are available much more often.

    Good luck.



    Travis
    :cool:
     
  7. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It was originally thought that portsentry had something to do with it. I can now verify portsentry has nothing to do with it. It is all a cpanel issue. To correct the issue all I have to do is restart cpanel and not portsentry so I am pretty sure it\'s an issue with cpanel only.

    I now have a cron set to restart cpanel every hour on the hour but still when I go to do stuff in WHM it fails all the time and I have to restart cpanel manually before the hour is up. It\'s really annoying and I don\'t dare run the cron more than once an hour because it would affect my customers to much if the panel was restarted every 15 minutes.

    There really needs to be a fix for this.
     
  8. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same problem accessing port 2087. Several times a day a \"server cannot be found\" error is returned when trying to access port 2087 (problem only exists on one server) but SSL still works and access via port 2086 still works. I had to resort to creating a cron job that started stunnel every 10 minutes. There is no error messages in any of the server logs.
     
  9. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    you guys sure this isn\'t that stupid problem IE browsers have with SSL with in/out errors? Try with Netscape and see. I know that I have to force IE into SSL1.0 to keep it from dropping pages I access with forms and stuff using SSL. It\'s a common problem with IE.
     
  10. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am positive it\'s not an IE issue. I have seen it do this on both netscrape and IE and if it was IE it wouldn\'t work just because CPanel was restarted.
     
  11. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Just wanted to make sure. When I run mine on 2087 I get \"Page Not Found\" errors at times in IE and I simply can\'t get a page back unless I close out and come back in. Restarting cpanel would also force you to do that so that may could be an issue. But I guess you know what you are doing.. I only wanted to make sure you didn\'t have the same problem I have. Good luck with it.
     
  12. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Kill portsentry forever and I bet this wouldn\'t be an issue for you ever again. And/or your network is causing you not to be able to hit that port at times....

    I have this occur once or twice a week uniquely on random machines- tops. But then again I\'m sure it has been more frequent in the past and will be again in the future.

    Worthy of a bug submission perhaps? If you are using portsentry you have to keep in mind that the seizing of higher ports is always always a possibility regardless of what\'s running when and how important it might be.

    There are many catch-22\'s with this product admittedly....


    Love.
     
  13. MrHits

    MrHits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have never had a problem with using port 2087

    Are you aware, that YOU MUST enter

    http:// in your browswer when using ports?

    If you just type in:
    yourdomain.com:2087
    you will get the error you describe.

    If you type in:
    https://yourdomain.com:2087
    you should be ok.

    I am not saying that this is your problem, as i have read your post above, and you have the correct url listed.

    Good luck.

    - Jeremy

    [Edited on 12/13/01 by MrHits]
     
  14. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No it\'s nothing like that. I have been using Cpanel/WHM for awhile and this just started happeing. It has also been verified by my dedicated server provider and we are trying different things to correct it.

    It seems the more I have cron restart cpanel the more it happens. If cron never restarts cpanel it maybe happens once a day but if I have cron restart it one an hour it almost always fails before the hour is over.
     
  15. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    See that\'s interesting actually.
    What is in /var/log/messages in the same ballpark of time as when port 2087 allegedly stops listening? Also, is there anything that even wildly corresponds to something fishy in /var/log/messages at or around the time when cron restarts cpanel?

    There might be some weirdness occuring with another service and examining logs along with timeframes may get us somewhere.......
     
  16. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I will try and catch the log at the same time it stops working next time. One thing I have noticed is when I restart CPanel I get

    Stopping Cpanel3 services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Cpanel3 log services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Cpanel3 Chat services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Melange Chat services: [ OK ]
    Stopping InterChange services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Cpanel3 ssl services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Web Host Manger services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Cluster Management services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel3 services: [ OK ]
    Starting WebMail services: [ OK ]
    Starting pop3 services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel3 Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting Melange Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel3 ssl services: [ OK ]
    Starting Web Host Manager services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cluster Management services: [ OK ]

    The Interchange is not supposed to stop or start but it does start. I have done what it said in these forums to stop interchange since we don\'t use it but CPanel still seems to think it is still trying to work. Could this be an issue?
     
  17. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OK here is the output from /var/log/messages when the cron does it\'s deal

    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: cpaneld shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: cpanellogd shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: entropychat shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: melange shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: interchange shutdown failed
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie stunnel[16472]: Received signal 15; terminating
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie stunnel[16474]: Received signal 15; terminating
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: stunnel shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:01 dixie cpanel3: whostmgrd shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpanel3: clustermgrd shutdown succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpaneld: ==> Loading Config ....product myname adminuser basename version root engineroot engine enginepl cycle docroot access_log stats_log port RS VALIASDIR VFILTERDIR
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpaneld: ==> Loading Config ....product myname adminuser basename version root engineroot engine enginepl cycle docroot access_log stats_log port RS VALIASDIR VFILTERDIR
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpaneld: ==> cpaneld(logger) 4.0 Starting ( processor system).....
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpaneld:
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpaneld: ==> cpaneld 4.0 Starting ( processor system).....
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpanel3: cpaneld startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie webmaild: ==> Webmaild 3.5.0 Server Starting.....
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpanel3: webmaild startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cppop: Address in use at bin/cppop.pl line 57.
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpanel3: cppop startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie entropychat: Content-type: text/html
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie entropychat:
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie entropychat: entropychat 0.2.5 started
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie entropychat: <br>Listening on port 2084...
    Dec 13 22:15:02 dixie cpanel3: entropychat startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie cpanel3: startmelange startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie startstunnel: ==> Starting SSL tunnel...
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie startstunnel: stunnel: no process killed
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie stunnel[17574]: Using \'127.0.0.1.2082\' as tcpwrapper service name
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie stunnel[17574]: stunnel 3.18 on i686-pc-linux-gnu PTHREAD+LIBWRAP
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie stunnel[17576]: Using \'127.0.0.1.2086\' as tcpwrapper service name
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie stunnel[17576]: stunnel 3.18 on i686-pc-linux-gnu PTHREAD+LIBWRAP
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie cpanel3: startstunnel startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie whostmgrd: ==> Web Host Manager 3.9.0 Server Starting.....
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie cpanel3: whostmgrd startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:15:03 dixie clustermgrd: ==> Cluster Manager 3.5.0 Server Starting.....
    Dec 13 22:15:04 dixie cpanel3: clustermgrd startup succeeded
    Dec 13 22:16:11 dixie proftpd[17363]: dixie.svsecure.net (dixie.svsecure.net[127.0.0.1]) - FTP login timed out, disconnected.
    Dec 13 22:17:31 dixie kernel: eth0: card reports no resources.
    Dec 13 22:18:25 dixie kernel: eth0: card reports no resources.
     
  18. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nothing too strange...... do you have anything besides portsentry installed that could be yanking ports / firewalling to some extent? Something strange I saw when skimming through was that cppop.pl error, address already in use (means port already has a service *or something* bound to it)

    Anything else you\'ve installed on this box, that would be in the genre of portsentry/tripwire, any insane ipchaining / iptabling going on in the backround?

    Also, the cpanel restart services script seldom works well with interchange. Build this into the end of your cron:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/startinterchange &


    Word. :cool:
     
  19. JeremyL

    JeremyL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No I haven\'t added any software that cpanel didn\'t install itself and I haven\'t messed with IPChains
     
  20. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:f077ae23f5] What is in /var/log/messages in the same ballpark of time as when port 2087 allegedly stops listening? [/quote:f077ae23f5]REFUSED by libwrap. That\'s what it says.
     
Loading...

Share This Page