The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Port 25

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by peddler, Jul 6, 2005.

  1. peddler

    peddler Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all,

    Verizon blocks port 25 for Email for those with fantasy domains. What can be done server side/client side to work around this? This is one client on a dedicated server.

    Thank you for any help.
     
  2. Aric1

    Aric1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Go into WHM's Sevice Manager, and check the last option and enter a port #. That runs exim on another port in addition to port 25. Tell your clients to use whatever other port you set for SMTP (outgoing mail). Don't forget to open that port in your server firewall, too, if you use one.
     
  3. peddler

    peddler Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you!
     
  4. peddler

    peddler Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Open port in firewall

    Can someone tell me exactly what to add in which file in APF to add a port? Appreciate your help.

    Thanks
     
  5. peddler

    peddler Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Once again, Chirpy came to my aid :) Done.
     
  6. BraveX

    BraveX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Could you post the response? I'm wondering the same question.

    Also wondering where to go to see active port numbers? If I change it from port 25 to 30, how do I know 30 isn't being used by something? (Newbie question, I know :)

    thanks,
    BX
     
Loading...

Share This Page