The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

port number used for WHM account transfer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by markhard, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hello,

    does any body knows what port number is used by WHM account transfer? as when i try to transfer an account it freeze and didn't show progress until i shutdown my firewall.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will perform connections via the SSH port (usually 22) and/or the FTP port.
     
  3. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what happen if i already change the port number? "Copy an account from another server with account password" doesn't have option to change SSH port number
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That feature should only be used as a last resort. Is "Copy an account from another server" (which you can specify a different SSH port with) not working for you for some reason?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As David mentioned, this transfer method is a last ditch effort. It uses a combination of FTP and WWW to perform the transfer. It is not guaranteed to work. If you don't have root, su or sudo access to the server you are transfering from, but you have a regular cPanel login, you can perform a backup within cPanel (if it is enabled on the old server), transfer the resulting archive to the new server and restore the account from that.
     
  6. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    problem is that my client didn't know much on technical things so he ask me to transfer the account. because i didn't know the root password for the previous server so i use this transfer method. any way after i turn off my firewall the transfer is executed but then failed on verifying tar file.

    at the end the account got transfered using cpanel backup method.
     
Loading...

Share This Page