Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

portsentry? does it block IP's?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sheldon, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    Does it block the IP's when it detects them?

    Sheldon
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Not unless you configure it to do so.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    yeah ok.. how would I go about doing that..

    where is the portsentry conf file?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
  5. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    thanx for the tuts..

    and no I dont have APF installed..

    I however have BFD installed adding the blocks to /etc/hosts.deny

    Sheldon
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Then that is probably what you want to do with portsentry :)
     
  7. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166

    How does your BFD work without APF?
     
  8. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Canada
    as per conf.bfd

    change to

    Sheldon
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice