The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Portsentry w/APF Firewall

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mickalo, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Just wondering if it's necessary for some reason, to have portsentry running when APF firewall is installed ??

    does cpanel require it running for something ?

    TIA,
    Mickalo
     
  2. akhthar

    akhthar Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    bangalore
    Hello,

    Add port 2082 in the following line in /etc/apf/conf.apf

    IG_TCP_CPORTS


    :)
     
  3. picoyak

    picoyak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Right. That really didn't answer the question though ;)

    Portsentry monitors open ports for signs of attack. It's an attack detection tool. APF is a iptables wrapper firewall. So assuming that you only leave open the ports you are using. Why in the world would you run portsentry also?

    Personally if I were not using a firewall, I would maybe run portsentry. With APF I just use it's antidos feature which seems to work fairly well after you get it tweaked.

    In other words, no, I wouldn't run them both, as there's just no reason.

    Someone enlighten me if I'm way off base, eh! :D
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You're spot on. No point in running it with a properly configured APF and antidos enabled.
     

Share This Page