Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Portsentry w/APF Firewall

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mickalo, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Just wondering if it's necessary for some reason, to have portsentry running when APF firewall is installed ??

    does cpanel require it running for something ?

    TIA,
    Mickalo
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. akhthar

    akhthar Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    bangalore
    Hello,

    Add port 2082 in the following line in /etc/apf/conf.apf

    IG_TCP_CPORTS


    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. picoyak

    picoyak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Right. That really didn't answer the question though ;)

    Portsentry monitors open ports for signs of attack. It's an attack detection tool. APF is a iptables wrapper firewall. So assuming that you only leave open the ports you are using. Why in the world would you run portsentry also?

    Personally if I were not using a firewall, I would maybe run portsentry. With APF I just use it's antidos feature which seems to work fairly well after you get it tweaked.

    In other words, no, I wouldn't run them both, as there's just no reason.

    Someone enlighten me if I'm way off base, eh! :D
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You're spot on. No point in running it with a properly configured APF and antidos enabled.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice