The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

portsentry

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by activeforce, Aug 3, 2004.

  1. activeforce

    activeforce Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hello i want to fully remove portsentry from my cpanel server but it keep installing back whenever cpanel updates


    because of this my APF firewall stop i want to full remove the trash called portsentry


    i did rpm -e portsentry but cpanel justs installs it back heh



    ANYone having problem with APF and portsentry?

    it just stop the apf
     
  2. activeforce

    activeforce Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    anyone? know how
     
  3. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forget trying to remove it. Stupid Cpanel will alway re install it. All you need to do is disable it by using netsysv. Thats /usr/sbin/ntsysv

    Uncheck Portsentry so it doesnt start on system reboot.
     
  4. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    :eek:

    ITS NOT TRASH!

    How dare you

    /me wubs portsentry

    its an uber program!
     
  5. activeforce

    activeforce Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hi, thanks but my ntsysv

    doesnt have it listed yet it rerun again when i even do rpm -e

    or chkconfig --del portsentry
    service stop portsentry

    i want it completly stop from running @ all @ anytime
     
    #5 activeforce, Aug 4, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2004
  6. activeforce

    activeforce Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    well portsentry flushes my apf iptables rules and i dont want that so i want to fully remove the software ;)


    there must be some guru with the answer :cool:
     
    #6 activeforce, Aug 4, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2004
  7. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey listen up! I just told you that upcp will resintall it. You can remove it all you want but it will be reinstalled. Get a hint! Disabled it using ntsysv or via the command line option. Then it will never restart! You probably ran rpm -e portsentry before running ntsysv thats why it doesnt exist!
     
    #7 mr.wonderful, Aug 4, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2004
  8. activeforce

    activeforce Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    anyone having problem with APF with Portsentry?

    eg: flushes rules
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're running APF (especially with AD enabled) you shouldn't run portsentry - it's pointless. To disable it on a Linux server, simply:

    chkconfig --level 123456 portsentry off
    /etc/init.d/portsentry stop
     
  10. activeforce

    activeforce Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello ive done
    chkconfig --level 123456 portsentry off
    /etc/init.d/portsentry stop

    but portsentry keeps rerunning and flushing my rules


    any know how to's?
     

Share This Page