Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Possible new bug - copy account changes username

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Metro2, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just FYI folks,

    Moving accounts to new server tonight and noticed something simple, but not good.

    Using WHM > Transfers > Copy account from another server , using Authentication method "User" and "Password"

    It changed the username to the password on the new server on each account I copied over!

    In other words, let's say I had this on old server:
    domain - example.com
    username - bill
    password - bill1950

    After copied to new server it becomes:
    domain - example.com
    username - bill1950
    password - bill1950

    Yes, it changes the username to the password, and still keeps the same password. I just had to change the usernames back manually.

    Both servers are running:
    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17853
    Apache 2.2.6
    PHP 5.2.4 Default (DSO handler)
    PHP 4.4.7 (none handler)
    mySQL 4.1

    Only 1 difference between the two servers - one is RHEL 4, the other is RHEL 3

    Has this happened to anyone else?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note Copy an account from another server with account password should only be used as a last resort.
     
  3. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's not the one I used.

    You're talking about the "Copy an account from another server with account password" option (the second option on the list in WHM).

    I used the "Copy an account from another server" option (the first option on the list).

    The part I meant about User / Password was in the AUTHENTICATION section (which means the user/pass that you use to Su to root) of the *proper/recommended* option.

    Please see attached screencap:
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 Metro2, Nov 19, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
  4. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Definitely looking like a bug from here...
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah, okay. Just making sure :).

    You may want to submit a support request directly to cPanel, Inc if you believe this to be a bug. This way our staff can login and either confirm that it is a bug and take corrective action or even if it's not a bug, take measures to ensure that this doesn't happen again.
     
    #5 cPanelDavidG, Nov 20, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice