The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible new bug - copy account changes username

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Metro2, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just FYI folks,

    Moving accounts to new server tonight and noticed something simple, but not good.

    Using WHM > Transfers > Copy account from another server , using Authentication method "User" and "Password"

    It changed the username to the password on the new server on each account I copied over!

    In other words, let's say I had this on old server:
    domain - example.com
    username - bill
    password - bill1950

    After copied to new server it becomes:
    domain - example.com
    username - bill1950
    password - bill1950

    Yes, it changes the username to the password, and still keeps the same password. I just had to change the usernames back manually.

    Both servers are running:
    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17853
    Apache 2.2.6
    PHP 5.2.4 Default (DSO handler)
    PHP 4.4.7 (none handler)
    mySQL 4.1

    Only 1 difference between the two servers - one is RHEL 4, the other is RHEL 3

    Has this happened to anyone else?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note Copy an account from another server with account password should only be used as a last resort.
     
  3. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's not the one I used.

    You're talking about the "Copy an account from another server with account password" option (the second option on the list in WHM).

    I used the "Copy an account from another server" option (the first option on the list).

    The part I meant about User / Password was in the AUTHENTICATION section (which means the user/pass that you use to Su to root) of the *proper/recommended* option.

    Please see attached screencap:
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 Metro2, Nov 19, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
  4. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Definitely looking like a bug from here...
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah, okay. Just making sure :).

    You may want to submit a support request directly to cPanel, Inc if you believe this to be a bug. This way our staff can login and either confirm that it is a bug and take corrective action or even if it's not a bug, take measures to ensure that this doesn't happen again.
     
    #5 cPanelDavidG, Nov 20, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page