The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible to have all Add On domains use seperate IP ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bapline, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. bapline

    bapline Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey there.. Anyone know if it's possible or have any ideas how to use a seperate shared ip for any add on domains ?

    Thanks
    Rich
     
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I am not aware of an easy method to accomplish the described goal. I would consider creating a separate cPanel account for each of the domain names that need to be on a different IP address; optionally, a reseller account may be used to separate the accounts onto a different shared IP address (as setup via the Reseller Center in WHM).
     
  3. sven4o

    sven4o Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can add new IP addresses from your WHM->Add a New IP Address.

    Once you configure the addon domains you should open the Apache configuration file (/usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf) and change the IPs in the VirtualHost lines for the corresponding subdomains.

    Restart the Apache service once you are ready.

    Also, you should navigate to WHM->Edit DNS Zone and edit the subdomains' A records in the DNS zone of the primary domain.

    If you do not have a root access on the server, ask your hosting provider for assistance.
     
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The described process is not a supported method; changes applied in this manner will not be retained.
     
  5. harikaram

    harikaram Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After extensive research I've concluded that is NOT an option :( You have to create a seperate account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page