The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible to have domain point to 1 directory & cpanel to another?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by forumfish, Nov 13, 2011.

1. forumfish

forumfish Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First, I am new with cpanel but have significant experience with command line. The sites that I am building share the same source code but are owned by different customers.

My goal is to stick with the standard account setup steps of adding an account for each domain name. When the accounts are created I want it to point to different directions though.

Account 1 = DOMAIN-1.com --> ROOT
    Account 2 = DOMAIN-2.com --> ROOT

Account 1 = Cpanel --> ROOT/Account-1/folder
    Account 2 = Cpanel --> ROOT/Account-2/folder

If anyone knows how this can be accomplished, either by script or modifying configuration of Account Setup the help would be much appreciated.

If a script has to be written, I am willing to purchase the service of a known professional.

2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wouldn't it be easier to create these as addon domains off of a main domain. Addon domains can have their own FTP login password.

What is confusing me is the source code portion anyway because you cannot have two accounts able to share the same source code but editing it within their own folder without impacting the source code. What exactly needs to be done for editing purposes or cPanel access purposes? You want the http site to be the same site for these users but the users able to add their own email accounts and edit everything but for the Apache files?

3. forumfish

forumfish Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator