The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PostgreSQL + FreeBSD + cPanel = Error!?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eos1, Jan 1, 2004.

  1. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I installed PostgreSQL on FreeBSD 4.9 (new)box.
    I can not create a database or access phpPgAdmin through client cpanel.

    phpPgAdmin error: You have not compiled proper database support into your PHP installation.
    but hey, I did easyapache option6, selected (*) Postgresql (Postgres must be installed).

    cPanel tickets ID# 33389
    2003-12-23 16:17:20

    FreeBSD 4.9
    Version: 8.5.5-EDGE_54
    psql (PostgreSQL) 7.3.4

    Well, I don't care about PostgreSQL, because there is MySQL anyway...:eek:
    However, I just don't feel good about PostgreSQL not working with cPanel
    and also thinking of switching our RH7.3 servers to FreeBSD soon...

    Is there anybody know about PostgreSQL + FreeBSD + cPanel?

    Please post like "Sticky: Installing Postgresql - HOWTO" for FreeBSD version.
    or should I give up PostgreSQL?

    Thanks for looking.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 33389
     
  2. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Date: Sat Jan 3, 2004 2:21:55 PM (PST)
    Mike(cPanel Support): "I'll forward this to the developers and request that postgres support be added to cPanel's PHP on FreeBSD."

    This is what I wanted to hear from you! :)

    Thanks Mike!
     
  3. jdawes

    jdawes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    eventually it is bound to be fixed, i recieved a very similar response to this problem some time ago. will be nice when the issue is resolved.
     
  4. woolly

    woolly Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when will this be available?
     
  5. Pyro411

    Pyro411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stanton, Michigan.
    I'm wondering about this as well.

    I'm testing out the following before going live on it.
    WHM 8.6.0 cPanel 8.6.0-R23
    FreeBSD 5.2-RELEASE - WHM X v2.1.1

    I get the same error when I use PostgreSQL 7.3.5 or 7.4.1

    Other then the PHP pgsql problem I only get an error about eximstats on FreeBSD 5.2.
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you have a ticket in on the eximstats problem ?
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    postgres should be ok in edge now.
     
  8. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, Nick!:p <--- Reverse, please.
    I'll try:D
     
    #8 eos1, Jan 19, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2004
  9. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is this true?

    Nick, Is this true?
    "FreeBSD 4.9 is not supported by cPanel. FreeBSD 5.0 is however."

    I got this from D yesterday...

    Thanks.:D
     
  10. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey I see phpPgAdmin Login page now!

    OK, I upgraded to:
    8.7.0-EDGE_2
    (Mon Jan 19 23:53:40 2004)

    I really appreciate your updates til late night...:eek:
    however, after upgrade, More problems were occurred! :mad:

    Horde & Squirrelmail became only blank pages...
    #cp /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libintl.so.4 /usr/local/lib/libintl.so.4
    fixed this problem though...

    Hey I see phpPgAdmin Login page now!:D

    BUT, Login failed
    Still can not create a database through client cpanel.

    At Postgres Config, Changed Passwd, Installed Config, restart Postgresql Server....I did almost 10 times....

    Didn't work.:mad:

    Again, I really appreciate your updates til late night...:eek: However.....................maybe soon :rolleyes:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 33389
     
    #10 eos1, Jan 20, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2004
  11. Pyro411

    Pyro411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stanton, Michigan.
    Nah not yet. I'm just working with the new server testing what OS to move to.

    Exim stats aren't to important to us since we rarely allow mail accounts on the server... all the schools we host have mail servers.

    I'm currently running
    WHM 8.6.0 cPanel 8.7.0-E2
    FreeBSD 5.2-RELEASE - WHM X v2.1.1

    As of this morning I do experiance the blank white page for Horde/Squirrelmail/phpmyadmin/phppgadmin

    The server has the following basic items compiled into apache

    Expires Module
    PHP 4.3.3 "Tried 4.3.4 as well"
    Curl/SSL
    OpenSSL
    PostgreSQL
    Use System MySQL "Tried on & off"
     
    #11 Pyro411, Jan 20, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2004
  12. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Make sure compat4x is installed

    /scripts/updatenow
    touch /var/cpanel/usebsdpkgs
    /scripts/ensurepkg compat4x
     
  13. Pyro411

    Pyro411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stanton, Michigan.
    hmm didn't help. My temp license I was using to test this is about to drop out soon, I'll test again after I get all the hardware in there that I was going to run perminantly on.

    compat4x is installed as well as compat3x "saw the software trying to download it"
     
  14. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What does

    ldd /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php

    show?
     
  15. Pyro411

    Pyro411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stanton, Michigan.
    it currently shows

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php:
    libpam.so.1 => /usr/lib/compat/libpam.so.1 (0x28248000)
    libpq.so.3 => /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libpq.so.3 (0x28252000)
    libcrypt.so.2 => /lib/libcrypt.so.2 (0x28266000)
    libintl.so.4 => /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libintl.so.4 (0x2827f000)
    libm.so.2 => /lib/libm.so.2 (0x28287000)
    libc.so.4 => /usr/lib/compat/libc.so.4 (0x282a0000)
    libintl.so.4 => not found (0x0)
    libssl.so.3 => /usr/lib/libssl.so.3 (0x28339000)
    libcrypto.so.3 => /lib/libcrypto.so.3 (0x2836b000)
    libiconv.so.3 => /usr/local/lib/libiconv.so.3 (0x28479000)

    after doing a search libintl.so.4 it shows up here. /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libintl.so.4

    After I coppied libintl.so.4 into /usr/lib the phpmyadmin & phppgadmin started comming up properly as well as Horde & Squirrel Mail.
     
    #15 Pyro411, Jan 21, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2004
  16. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I re-installed postgres manually (cd /usr/ports/databases/postgresql73/;make install). Now the config and password reset work, but I still cannot add databases from within cpanel. I do not get any error messages, they simply do not add.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 36101
     
  17. eos1

    eos1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There are many RH user need to re-install "FreeBSD"

    I guess this issue is that cPanel must take care of ASAP. and we are paying same amount of license fees. :mad:

    If cPanel can not work out this kind of issue, maybe, cPanel needs to set different prices for each OS or something.

    Specially, there are many RH user need to re-install Free OS..."FreeBSD" since cPanel mainly supported RH.

    Or, simply remove "PostgreSQL" from cPanel. <--- This is fastest way! :D :D :D
    I'm talking about dropping "PostgreSQL" support from ALL cPanel! not only for FreeBSD.
    You can't really manage/control PostgreSQL anyway...

    One more thing:
    cPanel needs to clean up Xskin's Icons. If you don't offer any features, you'll get empties. and this is really awful to look at...
    Your customers will ask you "why are there many empties?"

    Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 33389
     
    #17 eos1, Jan 22, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2004
  18. Pyro411

    Pyro411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stanton, Michigan.
    I agree PostgreSQL is evil, unfortunately we gained a few customers that have sites powered by PostgreSQL... we're looking to move them to MySQL 4.x soon but schools tend not to have the $$$ to perform the migration from Postgre to MySQL.
     
  19. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I can add users and databases manually, just not through cpanel. cpanel doesn't have privileges or something like that?
     
  20. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    One last piece of information. If I add the users and databases through shell, the databases do not appear in cpanel, but the user can control the databases through phpPgAdmin. It's all working except for the cpanel connection to it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 36101
     

Share This Page