The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

postwwwacct and default page

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by labeach, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. labeach

    labeach Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would like to be able to create a default page for all new accounts that takes the accounts new domain name and displays it. I have read a lot of posts here but it is not clear to me since I am new to Linux admin. I see someone has written a PERL script to do something like this, but I need to change the name to legacywwacct? Also I don't know PERL. I was wondering if postwwwacct could be php? And if so, does someone have a sample creating an index.php default page?

    One other question. It appears that only the index page is copied to new accounts. So there is no way to use images in the default page?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The topic of displaying the account's domain name on the default page has been discussed previously:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=71245

    Additionally, you can put images in your skeleton directory and those images will be copied to your user's ~/public_html path upon creation.
     
  3. labeach

    labeach Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks I searched and searched and did not find that thread.

    Also, I setup an images directory within the public_html directory to store my images. I guess I just need to store all images in the public_html directory because it won't copy subdirectories over? At least it did not for me.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Was this in your public_html directory, their public_html directory or your skeleton directory? Files must be in your skeleton directory for them to be copied to your clients' hosting accounts once they are created.
     
  5. labeach

    labeach Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So, just to be clear, if I make an images directory in the skeleton directory and put files in it, the images directory and the files should also be copied over?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, just tested this on:

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-B18404
    CENTOS 4.5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  7. labeach

    labeach Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. I probably did something wrong. I'll work on it get back here if I can't get it to work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page