The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

powerdns & WHM/cPanel?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by The MAzTER, Dec 19, 2003.

  1. The MAzTER

    The MAzTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    powerdns & WHM/cPanel?

    Will this ever be supported?

    Reason why i want to use powerdns:
    - tired of all those bind errors in whm / cpanel (adding dns records manualy at the moment)
    - more secure
     
  2. eger

    eger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would also like to see support for this as I would LOVE to use pwerdns for its mysql backend. This would be very simple to do if we could remove BIND from being a service and letting letting the DNS be created to the powerdns over port53 on the same machine.

    maybe i'm wrong and it is harder than it looks.

    would be cool though!
     
  3. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That would be the easy part, what about using cpanel /whm to edit zones in powerdns, now that would be something...
     
  4. EcoHosting

    EcoHosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    Isn't PowerDNS just a front end to MySQL that simply stores DNS records in a database? I was under the impression it all still ran on top of Bind anyz.

    If this is the case then could the new clustering model be adapted to play nice with PowerDNS?Please correct if I am wrong.

    We are in a tight spot now as we have to port all our DNS records to a dedicated DNS server and we still have no idea how to do it with cPanel being the main host. We want to seperate the primary DNS functions off cPanel. We tried the WHM (DNS version) but are having some serious doubts about using it as our primary nameserver.

    Is anyone toying with other ideas? If so can you please share them?
     
  5. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nope, it is an actual nameserver.
     
  6. EcoHosting

    EcoHosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    You are right, I just read their documentation. :rolleyes:

    Is there anyone with a suggestion on how I can slave (or now cluster) cPanel with another DNS solution other than cPanel's own? I'd love to use PowerDNS. Is anyone working on this? or does anyone have any suggestions?

    I want to run a seperate DNS server other than WHM (DNS version) to act as my primary DNS server serving all my servers and not be forced to use cPanel's own DNS. I have several other servers not running cPanel.

    Thanks in advance for any advice.
     
  7. pvps

    pvps Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I know a PHP coder who is working on such a beast as we speak, I don't really want to post his email address on here but if anyone pm's me I will pass their email address onto him.

    He's about a week away from beta testing I think (I only know this because he gets a VPS from us that he's been using for testing)

    His product has been developed to work on any server (I know he has tested it on plesk as thats what his box runs) and uses bind, basically it lets you run all of your dns from one server, add a zone, edit a zone, delete a zone, config the zone template etc.

    It's not in production yet and I don't know the price or any other details but I'm sure he would be glad of any beta testers because he was just asking me how he could test on cpanel.
     
  8. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    PowerDNS's supermaster mode might be just what you need(it's one of the reasons I like powerdns myself) However, it works on your first assertion, not the second, powerdns is a better slave than bind, and both are about equal at being "master" Powerdns could become a sort of universal slave, provided you have a stable set of nameservers with proper access controls on all of them.
     
  9. eger

    eger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wondering if anyone has tried using powerdns with cpanel or as a slave to bind?

    i would LOVE to see this implemented asa choice into cpanel for nameserver.

    it would be very easy to implement IMO since it is just inserting records into a MySQL database. all cpanel would have to do is get the binary and/or source and compile it, setup the default mysql db with correct permissions, and modify the WHM to create the records for the DB.

    these are just my thoughts. maybe i'm missing something that would not let this happen.

    cheers.
     
  10. EMS

    EMS BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I know this is an old thread but I'd like to know if anyone has managed to use powerdns in conjunction with cpanel yet. Its something I'm very interestd in. I'd also be interested to hear if anyone has managed to use any 3rd party dns system in conjunction with cpanel apart from the 4psa offering.
     
  11. ntwaddel

    ntwaddel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Templeton, CA
    MyDNS works great too
     
  12. Vinayak

    Vinayak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bharat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As I was searching for setting up a Managed DNS solution that works with cPanel and other Nix* & Windows control panel, and also provide managed DNS service (like UltraDNS).

    I was about to post a new thread but then found this one, so thought its better to continue in this one.

    I studied a bit on PowerDNS and Managed DNS services. but since most of my Nix* Servers are cPanel based and Windows Servers are HELM based, hence I was thinking is there a solutioon that is PowerDNS based that we can implement to offer Managed DNS service to non hosting clients and that can be integrated with our cPanel & HELM based servers.
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The best you'd be able to do is a traditional master slave environment since the cPanel servers have to run bind.
     
  14. Vinayak

    Vinayak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bharat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks chirpy,

    Well but then I think it is better to run managed DNS services seperately, and should get a script developed to automate account creation in cPanel and on our Managed DNS system.
     
  15. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi!
    I am not sure what you guys means, I want to know:
    1. Can I use powerdns on cpanel server ?
    2. Is there anyone doing so ? Can you share the HOWTO ?

    I really don't want to add another server just for DNS.
     
  16. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    1. If you want to, but it won't integrate with cPanel as I already said above
    2. It should be the same for any other server with the caveat in 1.
     
  17. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    Apologies for bumping an old thread - But this is something we're running for our shared hosting.

    PowerDNS is setup on two servers, using two separate MySQL databases. PowerAdmin (interface for managing PowerDNS records) is setup on the primary Name Server. The MySQL server the primary Name Server is using, replicates any changes made instantly to the secondary PowerDNS Name Server, running on a separate MySQL database.

    The only feature we haven’t had is automatic zone creation when an account is added to cPanel. But this is something we're now looking into.

    I’ll try and keep this thread updated or perhaps create a new one as things progress in the coming days / weeks.

    It should be something cPanel look at, PowerDNS is an excellent alternative to bind, it’s fast and easily managed.
     
  18. Earendil

    Earendil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any update on this?
     
  19. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    Our member of staff that claimed he understands perl, actually doesn’t. Our network guy is perl orientated so I'll see if he’s able to develop something.
     
  20. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any update on this ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page